We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and location”

The Vanilla Pod Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Vanilla Pod Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 197 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At The Vanilla Pod restaurant, our cuisine style is focussed on local and seasonal ingredients with an underlying emphasis on flavour. Key ingredients include fresh herbs which in the summer months are picked from the herb garden next to the restaurant.Tapas style dishes of international and mediterranean flavours combined with fresh Okanagan ingredients make for a delightful exploration of contemporary cuisine. Visual presentation is as important as innovation in flavour with judicious use of spices and other seasonings being central to the dishes created by Executive Chef Bruno Terroso.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and location”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a lovely meal here - simple food with beautiful ingredients.

Set in a lovely building with full glass sides which allows a great view of the stunning scenery.

Also enjoyed the wine tasting whilst we waited on a table, the hostess was very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    103
    32
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penticton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“didn't even get chance to eat!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

i arrived shortly before 1:30 pm. no i did not have a reservation which did not look like it would be a big problem as the restaurant was easily more than half empty. however, after being asked by two different servers if i had a reservation, i was informed that the kitchen was way behind and that they could not serve me. it was suggested that i come back in 20 minutes!
i sort of got the feeling that i was somehow at fault for a restaurant that is clearly seriously understaffed. why have all those tables and chairs and not enough staff to prepare and serve the food?
there was no suggestion that i could be seated and enjoy a glass of wine and the scenery - it was simply go away and come back later!
by the by, who calls to a restaurant and makes a reservation for one. i eat out every day and this was an absurd experience. just find me a quiet place to sit and let me know that it might be a bit slow on that particular day.
i have owned a restaurant for 17 years and no, we don't take reservations and we NEVER turn someone away who wants to join us for lunch

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sushi Pizza Rocks”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful views, creative menu, and delicious sushi pizza. Highly recommend it for all three reasons. If you go in the evening and sit outside -- which is grand -- bring mosquito repellant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marla0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointing!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food was disappointing. Some items were good (potato cake starter), but all of our mains were below par. Two of us had duck, which was tasteless(!) and very under seasoned. One had the lamb which was OK. The pasta was the only stand-out main course in a party of 7. I really don't mind paying top dollar for a good meal, but this was not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've been twice in the last year, and both times were amazing. Delicious food, great staff and good all around experience. The best dish by far is the salmon, it's to die for. The view is really pretty and the winery itself has a really nice atmosphere. The interior is modern and the staff is very pleasant and attentive. There is outdoor seating that looks a bit 'pic-nic benchy' but I haven't been out there yet. I will say the menu is pretty pricey but honestly you're paying for the good quality. A great place for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vanilla Pod Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Vanilla Pod Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing