We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Food - Great Prices”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #77 of 195 Restaurants in Penticton
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Victoria, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basic Food - Great Prices”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A good spot for a quick meal. Service is always good. Prices are fair and the food is satisfying.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    43
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario native in British Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cold food”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The food was cold and greasy, and my sandwich had the faint taste of cigarettes...staff shouldn't smoke at work, or wash their hands better after their smoke breaks

Helpful?
Thank redcanoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service !”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A Sunday eve, about 8 pm. Service was almost non-existant ! Tired , hungry and pissed off, after a long day of travelling ! :( Have never been back.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RivaRidge182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Food was quite good, shame about the kitchen”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We ended up at Denny's on the Victoria Day stat, having discovered that most of their competitors had rolled up the sidewalk and taken the day off, much to our great surprise - so kudos to them for staying open.

We enjoyed our grilled chicken burger and BBQ hamburger with fries - mainstream fare but reasonably well prepared and cooked. HOWEVER, for some reason Denny's took it upon themselves to orient and induct new kitchen staff on a busy evening with no less than 5 wait staff buzzing around. The next table waited for over 40 minutes, only to find their order lost in the ether (apologies and a comp) the table behind waited and waited (many apologies) and then we waited very patiently for over 30 minutes (yet more apologies). The frazzled and harried server was very sympathetic and volunteered the explanation of the problem.

Guys, if there's a snafu in the production of our food, why not let us know when we arrived and sat down - we weren't in a particular hurry but you wouldn't have a chorus of disapproving tables wanting to know what is happening.

I also wonder why with so many servers plus a 'manager' and a 'busser' it wasn't possible to clear the corner table behind us for over 40 minutes?

The problem wasn't with wait staff, but the kitchen - communication makes a big difference to people's expectations, and I find customers are a lot more sympathetic when kept appraised of the circumstances.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great waitress - very helpful”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Good food - large restaurant - great service! My waitress was very helpful - provided me with the Wifi pass....offered coffee several times....was very nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammarammadingdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing