We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Warm, welcoming and delicous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theo's Restaurant

Theo's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Theo's is a family run Greek restaurant which opened in 1976. We use fresh produce from our garden when available and work with our local farmers and suppliers in the Okanagan valley to provide a menu which is both rooted in Greek village cooking and inspired by Okanagan ingredients.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and delicous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Always look forward to dining at Theo"s.Consistent excellent meals time after time.Highly recommended to all our visitors and guests.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    148
    46
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favourite Greek restaurant anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Theo's is a family run restaurant with all the charm of the "old" world. The walls are covered with vines and family photos that are fun to peruse as you wait for your meal. The service is homey and fun, the food excellent and wines, many local, are a reasonable price. There is a lovely big wood fireplace to sit by in the winter and a Greek countryside outdoor seating area in summer. Even though reservations are recommended, they have always found seating for us. We love Theos, whether it is for a family gathering, a romantic dinner or a quick bite en route to Vancouver or Naramata.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best Phyllo Salmon in Penticton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

A delightful friendly environment and all three of us had an excellent meal. Our waitress was extremely accommodating and it is defiantly a place where we will recommend and return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
551 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“One of very best experiences ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a very nice time at Theos in Penticton tonight! Great ambiance, awesome tasting food, authentic Greek music in the background and a real fireplace to set such a nice mood. I used to think Villa Rosa was the best of the best in Penticton but now not so sure, maybe a tie between Theos and Villa Rosa now! Prices as well for both food and drinks were not barn burners! Thanks for a nice time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had dinner at Theos after making reservations and being totally excited about the hype on how good it was. The waitress was awesome as well as the service she provided, however the food was well below satisfactory. The mixed appetizer platter tasted awful and the entree came while we were still (trying) to eat the appetizer. Our entrees were flavourless and only lukewarm. This could have been because we are vegetarian and only have limited choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sdyck001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosTheodosakis, Owner at Theo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your server and had awesome service, though as you mentioned, I would agree that the main course should have come after you finished your appetizers, as part of our philosophy is to provide a relaxed, non-rushed setting for dinning.

We usually have great feedback on our dishes, including our vegetarian menu items, so I apologize that they were not up to their excellent standards. I would love to find out what exactly you had ordered that night so that my team and I can look at this further, as we are recognize we are always learning how to improve our restaurant. Even though we have been open for 37 years, and despite all best intentions, I recognize mistakes happen, and that you did not receive the evening that we would have loved for you to enjoy.

I would appreciate the opportunity to take care of you dinner for that night, and to hear more about the details of the meals you received, please contact me at my personal email - Nikos at eatsquid.com at your convenience.

Thank you
Nikos Theodosakis
Owner / Theo's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Theo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing