We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - Questionable service”
Review of Theo's Restaurant

Theo's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Theo's is a family run Greek restaurant which opened in 1976. We use fresh produce from our garden when available and work with our local farmers and suppliers in the Okanagan valley to provide a menu which is both rooted in Greek village cooking and inspired by Okanagan ingredients.
Quesnel, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food - Questionable service”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We dined here twice in the one week that we spent in Penticton. Both times we were greeted by friendly staff and seated shortly after we arrived even though we didn't have a reservation and the place seemed full.

We were served quickly and the dinner portions were large enough for 2 of us to share. We liked the Greek salad and the 3 dips with pita and were generally pleased with all that we ordered.

However, on our first visit we were put off by the overly ambitious waitresses that kept wanting to take our plates away before we were totally finished eating. It felt as if they were rushing to get us out of there.

On our second visit we were celebrating a birthday. Again, we were served huge portions of tasty food, but, the slice of birthday cake arrived without a candle. This really wasn't a problem but after it had been 1/2 eaten, the waitress showed up with the candle, and much to our horror, placed it in her mouth (yes, in her mouth) to light it and then placed it on the cake. OMG!! I'm still stunned and now can't help but wonder what goes on behind the scenes and whether or not the staff has had any training in hygienic/safe handling of food. Unfortunately, this incident was a bad ending to an otherwise good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank side-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosTheodosakis, Owner at Theo's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, and very glad to hear you enjoyed the portions and the taste of our Greek menu.
I do want to apologize for the rushed service you received. As owners, our philosophy has always been to create a casual dinning environment that is not rushed, and this feeling of never being hurried is one of the things we frequently hear from our guests that they appreciate about our restaurant. Something went wrong on your visit, and I am truly sorry for that. I will be reminding everyone, today, just how important it is to our guests, and to our family, that the food and atmosphere that we take such care in creating, be enjoyed in a leisurely and comfortable pace.
As for the birthday cake incident, I am horrified to hear that one of our staff members would make such a bizarre error in judgment, and I will message you personally to follow up.
Again, I do thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, all your comments help us grow, and as restaurant owners, even though negative experiences are always hard to hear, we do appreciate having brought to light the areas that are out of line with how we desire our restaurant to be experienced.

Thank you,
Nikos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    176
    55
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge island Wa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere, resonable prices”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Theo's was recommended by our hotel in Penticton. The atmosphere made you feel like you were in Greece, especially the outdoor patio. Wines by the glass choices were limited which is why I didn't rate it 5 dots. The menu offered a wide choice of Greek food. I strongly recommend the Sauteed Kalamari or the Kotopita for appetizers and chicken Souvlakia or Salmon in philo as mains. The baklava was fantastic. Service was also great.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosTheodosakis, Owner at Theo's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hi,
Thanks for the great review, Glad to hear how much you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere!
In regards to the wines by the glass, what would you like to see in the future offered on our list?
Thanks again - Nikos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, good service !”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We have been to Theos countless times, never been disappointed, always impressed. We actually has our wedding reception on the upper part of the restaurant. They let us do our own decorations, we had 20 people , all sharing the greek platter consisting of all kinds of good greek food, all the wine we could drink, and the bill came in at $800.00 !! Most other restaurants or wineries wanted $1000.00 just for the use of their facilities ! Theo and Nikos take pride that everything coming out of the kitchen is fresh and home made. We quite often have the lamb shoulder, always enough for another meal to take home ! All in all, a great place to eat and take in the atmosphere

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve its reputation”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

As a local, I've been to Theo's numerous times. It has really gone downhill.
The saganaki was a small portion, bland cheese that was hardly browned at all.
The dolmanthes are still fine.
As a main, I ordered the lamb souvlaki (medium rare). The veggies weren't al dente, they were downright crunchy. The 1/2 of a potato was so overcooked it fell apart, and the lamb was cooked fine, but cut so-so. The pieces were either perfect or chewy enough to pass for lamb-flavored bubblegum. If I hadn't been trying to make a good impression in good company, I'd've spit a lot of lamb into my napkin. Try La Casa Ouzeria (or maybe The Villa Rosa) instead!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This restaurant has an authentic greek/ meditteranean feel to it and always seems busy. This is the second time I have been here. The food is hit or miss. My fish was great but other people on the table could barely chew through their lamb souvlaki. There are other places with better food in Penticton.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank collmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Theo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing