We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland & Boring Mexican”

Shades On Main Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 195 Restaurants in Penticton
Restaurant details
1 review
“Bland & Boring Mexican”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had too high expectations I guess. The chicken enchiladas had zero seasoning and the rice and beans tasted old. Everything was bland. No sides of salsa, but a couple tomatoes and strange looking lettuce? If you are going to have a special mexican night it should be alot better quality or don't bother. The waitress Brenda and her service was very good. Maybe the awards are for a particular menu item or because of the service?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckaboobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    17
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty, enjoyable birthday lunch celebration”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was in town for an hour, so invited a friend to have lunch with me, to celebrate our upcoming birthdays.
The restaurant had a clean, comfortable, community feel to it. They were pretty busy with the lunch crowd.
Server was gracious. Service was quick. Our burgers were delicious. Serving sizes on the larger side. [so much for light lunch] :-)
Will definitely dine there again when in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drosera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap family fare”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on Mexican Friday and most of us had the Mexican food. There were no complaints from our group, everyone enjoyed their meal. It was not the best or the worst food I've had in the last little while. If you have kids and want decent food at decent prices this is a good choice. The Mexican was much better and more authentic than I had expected. All in all, a solid place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food. Great Service.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A restaurant doesn't last as long as Shades has without good food and service.
The menu is basically burgers, salads and your average fare.
They also do a Mexican night but we have not tried it.
The restaurant is always clean. The prices are average...$9.00 for burger and fries.
In the back of the restuarant towards the bathrooms it can get very cold.
The front of the restaurant has a couple of flat screen tv's which gives you something to look at if you're alone.
There is also free wi-fi. The server will give you the code if you ask.
This is a restaurant frequented by the locals and the older folk really seem to like the simple food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanuckMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great spot for lunch!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are regular visitors at lunch time to Shades on Main and it never disappoints. Their food is consistently good and the service is friendly and most of the time efficient. What we like about it is that it's local and isn't a big chain. Their product is consistent and their service has been the same good quality for years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimH891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shades On Main Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Shades On Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing