We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Salty's”

Salty's Beach House
Ranked #8 of 192 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Canadian, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Island flavours from around the world! Fun, energetic atmosphere in the heart of the summer action!
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Salty's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Service was ok. Beer selection disappointing. Food was subpar on all levels especially what they are calling a Tai noodle salad for $17 (you have to pay more for chicken to add chicken). Would not recommend this place. It was the worst meal of our holiday. We should have listened to the other bad reviews on tripadvisor because they were bang on.

Helpful?
Thank TeamRib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    329
    121
    50
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“long waits, but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We dined here a couple of times. When we went, we were just 2 adults, but some table had kids with them too. I don't recall how kid-friendly the menu is. The line up tends to be long, and the service a bit slow. But the food was excellent. A bit pricey, but that is what you expect at one of the areas most popular spots. It's right on the waterfront so if you get a patio seat, all the better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holiday4Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood curry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Seafood curry was amazing, and I enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar upstairs. Friendly bartender/server, but he left me sitting with my credit card out on my bill for at least 10 minutes while there was only 2 other tables in the place. Great food, but I was frustrated when I left as I was tired and really wanted to pay and leave.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Salty's is right across from the beach at Okanagan Lake, and has an easy-going beach atmosphere. The drinks are fun and it is a great place to people-watch. However, the menu has declined in recent years. In the past, there were well-made dishes, seemingly sourced from the beaches of the world, but the menu now seems to focus on things that can be mass-produced quickly.

The menu is mostly average. Many restaurants now have fish tacos on the menu, and the ones I had at Salty's were edible, but below average when compared to other restaurants at this price range. Deep fried and thrown on a tortilla. The items that my family had were the same: average, and sometimes overcooked.

It is sad, because I have had some really good meals here. Like many of the run-down motels in Penticton, Salty's gives the impression that as long as they are raking in the cash, they don't care anymore about quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaRider13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definition of Downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Salty's used to be a wonderful restaurant, eclectic menu great drinks and amazing view. It still has the amazing view. The menu has changed, it is more commercial, even the old favorites that they still offer taste poorly. I went in with my kids for mothers day and it tasted like it came out of a box. I was in there last night just for a drink. There was 3 tables of 4 and 2 people at the bar, it took 25 minutes to get our drinks. The "manager" had nothing to say about it and didn't seem troubled by the fact that it could take so long to get a drink. Apparantly the bartender didn't know how to make the Salty's spicy ceasar.......This place was the epitome of fine dining and a fun night, now it is just out of a box with a side of bad service. The heart and soul has left this place. Do not reccomend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelavanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's Beach House also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Salty's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing