We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food and atmosphere”

Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 197 Restaurants in Penticton
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Families Welcome upstairs in our Family Sports Bistro. Warm Pub Atmosphere since 1982! Large Patio Seating, Big Screen TV's, Great Service & Tradtional Pub Fare. Central Penticton Location is close to Skaha Beach! Penticton's only Brew Pub featuring Hand Crafted Chemical Free Beer! A Tourist Destination and Local Favourite!
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pub food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Dined with a party of five. Food was excellent as was the service. Typical but good pub menu - we all were pleased with our meals. House pale ale was excellent and so were the Ceasars. Recommend giving it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Its-my-Island-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori_Iceton, Manager at Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Mmmm - The Barley Mill Caesar!! Good Choice - It's a Meal of 6 different Garnishes, on top of a Great Caesar! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    69
    36
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food & Good Prices”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had burgers and beef dip with a pitcher of ale at the Barley Mill Brew Pub. The food and ale were good and the portions large. We were in the downstairs section with nice atmosphere and good service, we found the staff friendly and attentive. The prices are very good. Don't understand the complaints some people have.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lov2travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori_Iceton, Manager at Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments! We work hard to ensure a complete experience for all of our guests! Your positive feedback is appreciated, and makes it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday blunders”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

group went out to share a bithday, party of 15 with some childern, understanding that a party that size food would take longer, but after an hour and half food started coming out, it was scattered, some people where done eating before others even got food. kids orders (chiken fingers and fries) came last. the food ranged from over cooked to raw burger, cold fries ect. after waiting that long (again understandable with large party) the food should still be good. been there before food is normaly great. I think they need to get rid of a few cooks that have no standarsds. will be a while before i give them anther chance. plenty of other good pubs in town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori_Iceton, Manager at Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Yes we had a tough nite here.. Once again we thank you for the groups patience, it took some time, however, we worked hard to ensure everyone did enjoy what they ordered once it arrived. Our apologies again.. I understand this was a big day for your son, we hope that he did enjoy the day. We have made some neccessary adjustments to ensure smoother execution of large parties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pale Ales Tried Both”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

An interesting architecture of a building probably built in the 1970's. Downstairs has a huge fireplace and the surrounding Rustic walls are strewn with Bison Heads, Elk and various other stuffed animals.
Upstairs is a Sports Memorbilia Collectors Dream. Walls are strewn with pictures and framed Hockey and Baseball Sports Shirts of famous stars including Gretsky.

We were very disappointed in the Pale Ales . It was a Tuesday Night. " The Special was a Ribs Dinner." reasonably priced. Ribs were tender but had no taste besides the cold sauce put on very luke warm ribs.

The Waitress was polite and very busy. Consequently, she did not return and ask us if we were enjoying our meal. She did not point out when ordering our food that we could pay a very reasonable additional charge for extra ribs!

We have in the past visited this Brew Pub many times but this time we felt it had lost its appeal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori_Iceton, Manager at Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
The Barley Mill Brew Pub is coming up to it's 30th Birthday.. Built with much character, we are glad that you enjoyed the atmoshpere. The Mustand Pale Ale is one of our top selling Ale's - All of our Beer is Chemical & Preservative Free - with 4 Ales and 2 Lager's there is sure to be one for everyone's different palate. With regards to the Tuesday Rib Feature, I will take your feedback to our kitchen manager. I believe that we coat the ribs with your choice of sauce, and bake them in the sauce, serving up a hot dish to our guests.. I will confirm and ensure that all staff are executing this in the same manner. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario native in British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pub food anywhere”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great menu and atmosphere. Brew pub on site. Our favourite place to gather, and of the wide selection every thing is good and well priced. Great place to watch sporting events!!

Helpful?
Thank redcanoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori_Iceton, Manager at Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Cheers!! We thank you for your kind words. We have recently introduced our new menu with the traditional Pub fare along with some lighter healthier options to accommodate tastes for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Barley Mill Brew Pub & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing