We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Bad - Don't Know Who Will Believe Our Story”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Resort Motel

Crown Resort Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Resort Motel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Bad - Don't Know Who Will Believe Our Story”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

This was DEFINITELY the worst hotel experience we have ever had! The one bedroom kitchenette was so dirty and disgusting. The plastic vertical blinds kept falling down, the room was missing baseboards, there were screw holes in the walls, spiderwebs everywhere, the fridge was filthy, the floor was disgusting with soft-spots everywhere, and the carpet was full of stains. There were plates but no bowls! The kitchen linens were full of stains. We got two bath towels for the four of us staying in the room. We used our own bedding for the pull out. When we checked in we had to wash all the dishes, wash out the fridge, clean the bathroom, and wash the tables. The bedding was not changed during our stay. We were lucky if the housekeeping included a change of bathroom linens. In addition, there was an ant trap on the kitchen countertop. Another guest came by to borrow a can opener and another asked if our room included a phone. Beside the motel was a variety of garbage furniture including mattresses, wood and kitchen sinks.

If anything I have underestimated our experience. Our seven year old checked the bed for bugs before getting in. I would strongly recommend choosing another place to stay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Pretty much everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    19
    9
    14
See reviews for
29
46
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Spotless, cute, great location and a wonderful staff! Right across from the beach, great little rooms, incredibly clean, with excellent beds and pillows. Everything felt either new or freshly redone. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and prices are completely on par with anything similar in the region. We had a great visit, enjoyed having our meals on the little patio in front of our room and spent alot of time in the pool. We will definitely be back again!

  • Liked — clean, friendly staff, location,
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

This motel was absolutely awful. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, it was furnished by garage sale findings, the blinds are verticle plastics, with 2 feet of them missing in spots (not appropraite when it's in both bedrooms) DIRTY, DIRTY, huge spiders! Appliances are at least from the 1950's.... so dirty.... floor was so sticky we stuck to it, bathtub, was so scratched up I didn't even want to shower in it.... bedding was dirty, towels were so old and full of holes, and dark green, and soooooooo worn looking, seriously I think this place should go for 49.00 a night, and maybe that would be worth it, but this was NUTS... would not recommend it, the photos online are NOT anything like what the rooms are like... not even the same layout, or even close to it... very small rooms, not even room for a coffee table, no alarm clocks, and they don't care, you have to pay up front, and you won't get your money back if you are not happy, if you leave you'll be [-]..... stay clear of this place..

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank karoBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

This will be my 3 summer visiting the Crown Motel and I am as excited as ever. I've never experienced what the other reviewers have commented on and I wanted to set the record straight. The rooms have all been redone and are cozy, clean, comfortable and fresh.

Each room has it's own little patio which is great for those warm summer evenings. After a day in the sun it's nice to come back and relax with a book on your own patio or go and cook on the communal bbq's that are there.

The location is great and you will find yourself just a short walk away from everything that may be going on. There are several restaurants just steps away and there is the ice cream shop, Annie's, right on the property! What a nice evening treat.

The staff is helpfull and willing to make your stay enjoyable. If you don't want to go to the lake, well there is a nice pool to go and lounge around.

I've always enjoyed my stays there and will continue to go as long as my vacations are as great as the last 2 stays I have had. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to feel like they are in sunny, wine country.

  • Liked — Location, convenience and comfort
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon b.c.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

rude office staff so i left

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank owgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Crown very much. Penticton is a wonderful vacation area and the Crown has an ideal location. It is on the beach, and it is within walking distance to the Casino, Salty's, and downtown. It is also within easy driving distance of many orchards,fruit stands, and wiineries. The motel staff was friendly; the rooms were clean, large enough and economical. The verandas in front of the rooms were the best and are perfect for leisurely morning coffees and eveing drinks. We ate dinner on ours. The pool looked clean but we were mostly in the lake.

  • Liked — The beach location and the verandas in front of the rooms.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AquamanUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

A friend recommended this motel. It is one in a street of older, family style motels on Okanagan Lake. Our experience from the start was dismal. The office stunk of cigarette smoke, we had to pay up front, & the office staff were surly & semi-rude. The room was very small, dirty carpet, with the largest spider I have ever seen on the bathroom ceiling. The mattress kept coming off the bed as there was no proper headboard. The cleanliness was completely suboptimal & I was praying for no bedbugs. The only thing this motel has going for it is location, it was pricey in relation to other better motels we stayed at during our travels. All in all, a dreadful experience. As my husband put it, it's a perfect motel to commit suicide in.

  • Liked — Nothing at all.
  • Disliked — Room quality, cleanliness, horrible staff.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceeniebinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#15 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spanish Villa Resort
Spanish Villa Resort
#25 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#18 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resort Motel

Property: Crown Resort Motel
Address: 950 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Penticton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Resort Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly, affordable motel right at Penticton's beautiful, sandy Okanagan Beach. Guests enjoy a casual relaxed atmosphere and heated saltwater pool. As well, many rooms and suites come with a Lake view, all with a cottage-style charm not found in the usual motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crown Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Motel Penticton
Crown Hotel Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing