We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Couple of years ago..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rancho Motor Hotel

El Rancho Motor Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rancho Motor Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Couple of years ago..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the El Rancho Motor Hotel for a prolonged stay. At the time I was in Penticton for work, so El Rancho became my temporary home which could have rolled over to a permanent home if I had chosen to stay. What keeps the place fond in my memories is the sincerity and friendliness of Gail and Bill. The room we stayed in was clean and quaint. It's location, albeit not glamorous was near to the town center and not too far from the lake for the summer months. Gail and Bill are always willing to help and listen if they aren't themselves busy and doing the good things they do. They are avid fans of the local hockey team, so if you are in the area long enough take the time to join in on their joy of cheering the home team, The Penticton Vees.

Room Tip: There are "suites" for rental that are for long staying guests, however there is a wait li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July. The motel is super clean, bed was very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Also have wifi service. The hosts will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Penticton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

My partner and were looking for short term accomodation while initially planning to move from Penticton to Calgary. We stayed at the El Rancho for a period of 3 months. Managers Bill and Gail were so welcoming, friendly, warm and caring! Our room was very clean upon check-in! Trina the chambermaid was outstanding for the duration of our stay. They all made us feel right at home!! Great location and very close to all amenties! I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Mainland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Let's face it: the Ritz-Carlton this is not. But what the El Rancho might lack in elegance the owners make up easily with super-friendly service and dedication. We've stayed there twice between Jul and Aug '11 and both times our hosts were extremely accommodating.

What you get:

* a nice, clean place 2 blocks from the beach and close to the downtown core
* firm mattresses in A/C'ed rooms w/ fridge and m/w
* an almost unbeatable nightly rate
* the nicest hosts around

I'd go back there in a heartbeat (and, in fact, will do so everytime we go cycling up to the Okanagan)

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the building that only get the morning sun are quite a bit cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MumsBua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Needed a room for a few days as our son was attending the hockey school in Penticton. Found this gem through reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. The friendly one on one service was a very pleasant surprise, and our room was very clean. It had everything we needed including a kitchenette at a rate that would be impossible to beat elsewhere. While there we encountered some bad luck with our truck and were delayed 3 nights (over the weekend and in peak season). Gail and Bill, the managers were so understanding and accommodating. They assured me they would have a room for us so I didn't need to panick. Simply the best motel experience we have ever had and we will most certainly stay again. Thank you for everything Gail & Bill!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinimid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Needed a hotel on a Friday during the summer high season. At $80 a night this was a bargain as most hotels were in the area of $100+ Easy to find, just a few blocks from the beach and found the owners/staff very friendly from the start. It's definitely an older motel but the room was maintained well with a really nice full kitchenette. Other hotel owners could follow the example of the El Rancho and take the same amount of pride in maintaining their accommodations. The place was probably built in the 60's or 70's and is in better shape then a lot of newer hotels.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Due to delays, we arrived on a Saturday night late at night, long after other places had closed their doors. We called El-Rancho and they were nice enough to let us a room. Although the furniture was dated, the room itself was very clean and quiet. I didn't even know there was anyone in the next room. Lake Okanagan is a short 3 block walk. There is restaurant across the street which serves breakfast until 2pm for those night owls. We were both very pleased with our stay and would have no problem recommending this hotel and would certainly stay here again. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ferna243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#17 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#19 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spanish Villa Resort
Spanish Villa Resort
#15 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#8 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Grande Inn
Casa Grande Inn
#5 of 18 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motor Hotel

Property: El Rancho Motor Hotel
Address: 877 Westminster Ave W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1L1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
El Rancho Motor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing