We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give it 10 points if TripAdvisor allowed”

El Rancho Motor Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rancho Motor Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Lower Mainland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would give it 10 points if TripAdvisor allowed”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Let's face it: the Ritz-Carlton this is not. But what the El Rancho might lack in elegance the owners make up easily with super-friendly service and dedication. We've stayed there twice between Jul and Aug '11 and both times our hosts were extremely accommodating.

What you get:

* a nice, clean place 2 blocks from the beach and close to the downtown core
* firm mattresses in A/C'ed rooms w/ fridge and m/w
* an almost unbeatable nightly rate
* the nicest hosts around

I'd go back there in a heartbeat (and, in fact, will do so everytime we go cycling up to the Okanagan)

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the building that only get the morning sun are quite a bit cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MumsBua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Needed a room for a few days as our son was attending the hockey school in Penticton. Found this gem through reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. The friendly one on one service was a very pleasant surprise, and our room was very clean. It had everything we needed including a kitchenette at a rate that would be impossible to beat elsewhere. While there we encountered some bad luck with our truck and were delayed 3 nights (over the weekend and in peak season). Gail and Bill, the managers were so understanding and accommodating. They assured me they would have a room for us so I didn't need to panick. Simply the best motel experience we have ever had and we will most certainly stay again. Thank you for everything Gail & Bill!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinimid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Needed a hotel on a Friday during the summer high season. At $80 a night this was a bargain as most hotels were in the area of $100+ Easy to find, just a few blocks from the beach and found the owners/staff very friendly from the start. It's definitely an older motel but the room was maintained well with a really nice full kitchenette. Other hotel owners could follow the example of the El Rancho and take the same amount of pride in maintaining their accommodations. The place was probably built in the 60's or 70's and is in better shape then a lot of newer hotels.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Due to delays, we arrived on a Saturday night late at night, long after other places had closed their doors. We called El-Rancho and they were nice enough to let us a room. Although the furniture was dated, the room itself was very clean and quiet. I didn't even know there was anyone in the next room. Lake Okanagan is a short 3 block walk. There is restaurant across the street which serves breakfast until 2pm for those night owls. We were both very pleased with our stay and would have no problem recommending this hotel and would certainly stay here again. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ferna243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Booked this hotel on the May long weekend, when all the hotel chains / larger establishments were booked up. Took a chance based on the TripAdvisor recommendations.
Unbelievably cheap! Better yet, super clean (something you wouldn't expect based on the low price point.) My cleanliness-obsessed partner couldn't stop commenting on how good the place felt.
Couple of blocks to the beach. Has a well-equipped kitchenette. Comfy beds. Yes, it's an older motel, with wood-grain panelling, but that's just cosmetics. We appreciated saving big bucks on lodging so that we could spend more on wine. Also, recommend the bar at the Sandman couple of doors down. Good friendly dive with local beers on tap.
Warning - don't use google maps to navigate here. Will lead you to 877 East Westminster, instead of 877 West Westminster.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohmster604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Overall this motel was pretty decent. The furnishings are like hopping in a time maching to 1962, but it is clean, and most importantly the air conditioning works. The owners were very nice to deal with and full of good advice about the area. There really isn't much to complain about for the price.

  • Liked — The price and the location
  • Disliked — The very dated furnishings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling_Trainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack,B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I've stayed at El Rancho, just about every year since Mt. St. Helens blew up on May 19th, 1982, and covered the town in a gray haze. This place has to be one of the finest establishment in the Okanogan Valley. It's centrally located, very safe, exceptionally clean, and extremely modest in price...during the peak summer season. The expansive outdoor pool is to die for on a hot day, but was closed early last year due to much needed renos. (I'd check to see if it's open when you book.) Also, the hospitality of management and the friendliness of staff are very welcoming.

  • Liked — clean, friendly, and safe
  • Disliked — pool was closed last year
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank coquihallaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#22 of 44 in Penticton
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Resort Motel
Crown Resort Motel
#10 of 44 in Penticton
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#16 of 44 in Penticton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#12 of 44 in Penticton
74 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Travelers Motel
#17 of 44 in Penticton
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#7 of 44 in Penticton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motor Hotel

Property: El Rancho Motor Hotel
Address: 877 Westminster Ave W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1L1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
El Rancho Motor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing