We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlights of the Naramata Bench”

Top Cat Wine Tours and Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.92*
and up
Naramata Wine Tour with Gourmet Lunch
Ranked #3 of 17 Tours in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Okanagan's Top Cat Wine Tours is lead by wine experts who live right in wine country, and many of which have either attended accredited wine schools or worked in the vineyards, cellars or wine rooms of some of Canada's top wineries. Our knowledgeable staff will provide insights into each winery and the area's history. Specializing in all inclusive wine tour packages, tours include pick up and drop off from most Southern Okanagan locations, guaranteeing everyone can enjoy the day without worrying about any time behind the wheel. Our wine tour packages also include all wine tasting fees, and a gourmet lunch is served at a specially chosen restaurant on full day tours. The only time you will need to bring out your wallet is perhaps to purchase a special bottle of wine or two to remind you of your journey. Tours depart daily from various locations ranging from as far south as Osoyoos up to Kelowna. Top Cat Tours will show you the award winning wineries of BC's wine country. Top Cat Tours also provides charter services and shuttle services for weddings, school or corporate/special events.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlights of the Naramata Bench”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Larry the owner drove us on our tour and it was awesome. It was perfectly choreographed from winery to lunch, and it was a no-fuss day with only fun! We were with another group because it was a busy weekend but Larry, a fellow wine owner, made sure that our group got a great value by taking us to another winery after we dropped off the big group. Thank you for showing us the highlights of the Naramata bench!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahleeyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    13
    1
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great day in the South Okanagan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

First off, sorry for the late review. My mom and I travelled with Dave for the day on Mother's Day weekend. The great thing about taking a wine tour is that you can taste all you want, and you never have to worry about driving or even carrying the full cases of wine that you purchase :)

Dave treated us like royalty all day - from sharing his knowledge of the area, to giving us tips about restaurants and places to see while we were in Penticton, to offering advice on new wines to taste - he was a great host.

We tasted at some of our favourite wineries like Blasted Church and Gehringer Brothers, and we were introduced to some new gems like Hidden Chapel. Lunch at the Firehall Bistro was great and so was the company.

At the end of the day David even carried our wine into our hotel room for us, there was no way that he was going to let us leave it in our hot vehicle parked in the parking lot. Thanks so much for showing us a great time, we would tour with Top Cat again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KT-BRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day on the Naramata Bench”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this tour as a package with our hotel at the Summerland Waterfront Resort. You can choose between the Bottleneck Drive or the Naramata Bench tours. Somebody recommended the Naramata Bench to us. Our tour guide was Dave, who was very passionate about the wine industry, well-versed, and fun. He seems to have an interesting background doing various things in the Okanagan Valley including DJing, radio hosting, and working at vineyards.

There were 6 of us on the tour. The guide picks everyone up at their own location, but that didn't take too long. We were supposed to be 8, but one of the groups gave the wrong address, so we couldn't find or get a hold of them.

It was a good selection of wineries that we visited. From more big brand wineries to smaller, more experimental wineries. It gave an interesting array of flavours. Dave did a great job explaining the process of wine making and wine tasting, pointing out the differences we would taste and what causes them. There's so much to wine-making.

Lunch at the Hillside was delicious. We had a reduced menu for the tour, but there were some good options. Most of us ended up getting the burger after Dave sold it so well. It was delicious and packed with flavour. The salad as well was very fresh and served with their apple vinaigrette which we bought afterwards.

We enjoy wine, but are rather inexperienced, so this was very educational. It's great not to have to worry about driving, and the guide takes care of your purchases and puts them in a box on the bus. Dave heard that we were on our honeymoon, and at the last winery, we were presented with a bottle of Elephant Island's Pink Elephant sparkling wine. All in all, an enjoyable day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gebusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We did this tour as part of a package with our resort and were disappointed to find that there were 14 people booked on the Naramata tour. I expected maybe 8 people or 10 max. and I also did not know that our bus would backtrack in and out of Penticton to do individual pick-ups at 4 other locations. We got picked up with 2 other couples in Summerland and then stopped at a wine place to pick up a couple, a hostel in downtown Penticton to pick up a customer, a RV park to pick up and backtracked to Penticton Lakeside resort to pick up another couple before heading to Naramata to start the wine tour. By this time we had been on the hot bus for over an hour (did I mention no AC) windows rolled down but still got very hot by afternoon.

The other people on the tour were all very nice and travelling from all over the world but with that many on a tour it is hard to ask any questions at the winery and crowded at smaller tasting places. Enjoyed first stop at Ruby Blues the most.

This tour included a lunch at Hillside Estates (very disappointing). Since it was included with tour very limited menu with only 4 choices. The place probably does have good food but just not if you are on the tour when you get the special tour menu with only those 4 choices, salad, or hamburger or cold tuna or something else I can't remember.

The guide was nice and so were all the other people. I think if our tour had been split in half and we had a smaller group it would have been more enjoyable. Also if I went in my own car would have had AC and ordered whatever I wanted on menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel241740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

we did the tour to naramata with david and it's been great. david is such a nice, funny and passionate wine fan. he made us visit different and interesting wineries and the lunch was great too. even if you don't know much about wine i really recommend this tour. we had a great day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 123travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Cat Wine Tours and Charters also viewed

 

Been to Top Cat Wine Tours and Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing