We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Resort
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The yurt we stayed in #8 and the resort are excellent and of a very high standard. The traffic noise was worse than we were expecting and woke us about 5 am every morning. We did ask for a couple of things after our first night. One of the heaters was making a horrible whining noise and a bolt in the door was falling out. The bolt was never fixed and the whining heater resolved by someone turning all the heaters off for the duration. Not a big problem as the weather was pleasant but for the amount charged would have expected better service. Also had to request housekeeping as no one came in the first day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiebond53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Hi Katiebond53,

Thanks for reviewing Barefoot after your visit.

We ended up getting the ac/heat technician down to have the heater fixed after the weekend. Our maintenance team took a look for the bolt but we weren't able to find it. We weren't too sure what you saw that we didn't but I haven't heard anything since.

I'm quite surprised to hear that housekeeping missed your room as they are extremely diligent, but I suppose it is possible that there may have been some miscommunication that led to your daily service being interrupted. We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience that it may have caused during your visit.

Thanks once again for visiting and we hope to have you back again one day.

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I spent the week and there with my fiancé and it was great! :) the yurts are homey and equiped with everything we needed! The staff was really friendly and we are actually going to be booking one of their fantasy yurts for our wedding night!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hi Kristen!

The most amazing place you've stayed! Wow, thank you for the huge compliment!

The staff really enjoyed getting to meet you and they are looking forward to having you back on the big night. Congrats and we will see you soon!

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

the yurts are amazing - nicely landscaped with paths leading to your individual unit. Yurts are well equipped - definitley not rustic - this is glamping at its best. Underground access to a great little beach across the street with paddle board rentals from Big Dakes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cozyjoesbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hi Cozyjoesbro, thanks for taking the time to review our property!

I noticed you are familiar with the term glamping! It's certainly a great way to describe our yurts. Hopefully you had an opportunity to visit some of the other amenities like the restaurants or shopping in addition to Big Dakez. They have some fantastic offerings as well!

Thanks for visiting our property and we hope to see you again soon!

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of the yurts, a unique style cabin based on a Mongolian nomad tent, but with all modern conveniences. The accomodation was new, very clean and well appointed with spacious kitchen, full bathroom, a/c (which we did not use), barbecue, cable tv and wifi included. Also the grounds are well cared for, flowers and shrubs abound and the staff are extremely attentive and friendly. I had visited this beach resort before but new owners have made substantially significant improvements to accomodation, beach area and services. Ted McG

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi TedMcG,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the improvements to our property and we look forward to continuing to improve our offerings and services for you and all of our other valued guests.

Hope to have you return soon!

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family and I stayed here during the last weekend of May and we had a fantastic experience that surpassed our expectations. Roy, the operations manager, went above and beyond to make sure our needs were always met and was extremely kind and caring to our children. The front staff was very courteous and always had helpful answers for us.

We stayed in the campgrounds and found it to be very well maintained. The bathrooms are the cleanest restrooms I have ever seen at a campground. We were also given a tour of the beautiful yurts that are also available on the property. They offer several varieties including a beautiful honeymoon yurt complete with a king bed draped under a romantic lace curtain and deep soaker tub. There are also yurts for families of 4 and up which include flat screen TV, living room, full kitchen and bathroom and deprecate bedroom(s).

Our family ventured down to the resorts private beach they have to offer which included a wonderful 'barefoot' experience. The Sandy Toes Cafe was very affordable and serve delicious food and natural iced tea in several flavours.

It's great to feel like we are a part of the Barefoot Resort family.

Thanks,
Jason and Stacey

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Hi Stacey A, thank you for your amazing review!

It's always great to have new guests enjoy their first Barefoot Experience! Thanks for visiting us with your family, we can't wait to have you back out - and welcome to the Barefoot Family!

Cheers,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The yurt was amazing, the staff were fantastic, the bed was super comfortable, the pullout sofabed was also comfortable. The kitchen was great, barbeque, bathroom, showers... everything was great. We even had an issue with our heaters that weren't working and they brought us a space heater 5 minutes later. And we were surprised to find our beds had been made after the first night. Everything was amazing. Hotel quality for a reasonable price. And the beach was clean and cute although we didn't get to enjoy it because of the weather.
BUT.... the location next to the highway is an issue. This is not a place for a peaceful quiet nights sleep. The airport didn't disturb us at all. But the constant traffic was not great. This is the only reason I wouldn't go back... If road noise doesn't bother you then STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: All the yurts are grouped together, maybe the ones just behind the row of shops may be a little quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi ginagee, thanks for taking the time to review our property.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort!

In regards to the road noise, I have been recommending to our guests that are light sleepers to try yurts 7 to 11 as they are behind the marketplace building and shielded from the road.

We do have future plans to expand the marketplace which will help significantly reduce the nighttime sounds from vehicles. There will also be future yurt developments which will be placed a little further back from the road.

We would certainly love to have you back for a return trip in the future!

Thanks,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our family stayed in one of the largest yurts for a few nights - it had two separate bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The yurt was 30' and there was more than enough space for the four of us. The yurt experience was very enjoyable, the staff were very helpful when needed and if you didn't want to leave the site pretty much everything was there to accommodate your needs. The ice cream shop was excellent and only $3 for a very generous sized cone (that was the baby size). The only difficulties I had was the noise - not from other people (everything was very quiet there), not even the airport (such a small airport that the flights are infrequent and not late into the night) but the location being right beside the highway. If you are a light sleeper it may not be for you as traffic noise is noticeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the resort and the yurt experience but for me the noise may prevent a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi cpmj, thanks for visiting us and taking the time to review our property.

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We tried to bring a little piece of everything the Okanagan has to offer onto the site, so if your time here is limited you will still get to experience as much as possible.

Some of our other guests have recommend trying yurts 7 to 11 if you are a light enough sleeper that the road noise bothered you. They are tucked in behind the marketplace building and are shielded quite well.

We would certainly love to have you back for a return visit.

Thanks,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
10.5 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#6 of 43 in Penticton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
3.6 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 4145 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6J7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Penticton
Price Range: $20 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach Resort is a brand new unique, eco-friendly development featuring 13 nightly/weekly rentals in amazing units known as yurts, 50 campsites and Annual RV Sites. In addition to these units, guests will enjoy private access to Shaka lakes beautiful warm waters and hot sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing