We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two home runs!”
Review of Romancing The Wine Tours - CLOSED

Romancing The Wine Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DO YOU WANT TO HAVE FUN!? BOOK YOUR WINE OR BEER TOUR WITH US TODAY! WE ALSO PROVIDE BEAUTIFUL HIKING TOURS!
Ontario
2 reviews
“Two home runs!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our first tour with a Merel included family from not quite 2years old to 86 plus. The day worked for everyone. Merel helped us select wineries that allowed the wine tasters to enjoy, the sightseers to experience the beauty of the Okanagan and the babe to have space to be a babe. Merel knew the wineries and the wine. She was wonderful with everyone in the family and felt by day's end like one of the family herself.

The second day was an all adult (30 something's) day with serious tasting. A whole different set of wineries, an excellent recommendation for lunch and an obvious connection with the winemakers at the many stops that day made for great memories as well as a well stocked cellar to enjoy over time.

We will be back again on our next trip - third home run coming up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Second time back with Merel.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A first class Tour! An experience worth sharing! My husband and I recently returned to Penticton and quickly scheduled a second tour with Merel. She is knowledgeable and has an amazing way of making you feel like you are an old friend! She goes above and beyond to personalize each visit. We requested she take us to the smaller (family-run) wineries this time and the experience will stay with me forever! This tour is for all who want an enjoyable, relaxed and educating experience. Merel is extremely flexible, she asks questions to be sure you are enjoying yourself and would happily change up the tour to best suit her patrons. Romancing the Wine Private Tours- Is unlike any other tours in the area we have done! Thanks Merel, I just love your style!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Charm1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Locals enjoy the Vines”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A tour experience that was extraordinaire..... When you live in wine country everyone comes to visit and wants to do the wine tours. For the locals, it's often hard to experience the vines when you are the driver. So, six of us hired Merel for the day and enjoyed our local vineyards and tasted wonderful Okanagan Wines.
This was a first class experience. Merel was knowledgeable of the area wineries and obviously had exceptional working relationships with the staff of the various ones we visited. The entire day was well paced and fun filled. Though we had planned on doing 6 wineries, thanks to Merel's helpful suggestions we managed to do 8.
Merel was fun to be with; very personable and flexible the entire time. This is the only way to experience the wonderful wineries of the Okanagan. It's a 10 for experience and we would recommend Merel and Romancing The Wine Tours to anyone coming to the Okanagan. We enjoyed this excursion so much that we are going to try to make it an annual event - After all we live in wine country. Thanks Merel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ritj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such a fun and relaxing day.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Merel is much more than a driver; she is an exciting, knowledgeable host with an infectious enthusiasm for wine and the valley.
Merel incorporated wineries that we were excited to try into her list of favourites, allowing us to try a wide selection of wines. Her personal rapport with local winemakers and tasting room employees ensured that we received very friendly and prompt service at each of our stops.
We would absolutely choose this company again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C-and-J-YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerryMerel, Owner at Romancing The Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
It was a true pleasure to take you wine touring! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romancing The Wine Tours also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing