We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bench Market

The Bench Market
Ranked #4 of 190 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Delicatessen, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bench Market is set at the entrance to the much-travelled Naramata Bench winery route. The Bench offers daily light breakfast, weekend brunch, baked goods, gourmet lunch, takeaway meals, catering, and grocery - along with the best coffee in town, made using locally-roasted organic beans. The healthy menu items are made from scratch using fresh, local ingredients. All meats and eggs are from BC-raised, ethically treated animals. And the shelves are stocked with a wide variety of unique, local artisan grocery items. Stop by and see how we're "keeping it local and making it fresh!"
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great drinks & food. Modern feel. Many specialty food items to see & purchase. Good location, very close to Okanagan Lakefront

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    94
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Delicious Local Hang Out + Great Catering Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you're looking for the place that's easy to miss, but where the locals go to grab a cuppa joe, breakfast, lunch & to catch up with friends, this is IT.

Chef Stuart's food is simple, fresh and filling. If you get a chance to enjoy an event catering by this crew, count yourself in good hands. Delicious comfort food at least in my experience - easy to please me when it's fall off the bone saucy ribs or a juicy pulled pork sandwich!

The team is welcoming and accommodating. It's nice to see the owners as such an integral part of the success through their commitment and combined talents.

This place is so good that I contemplated whether or not I should write a review as sometimes it's hard to find a place to sit! =)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OkanaganFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts, lunches, salads, cookies and gourmet treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stopped here for lunch or breakfast a few times on our way to or from Naramata. The food is creative and tasty and we stock up here with good crackers, olives + salad dressing for our holiday pantry. The only downside last trip was that some of the counter servers weren't clear on what they were selling; that is what food items are available that day.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best coffee shop in Penticton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great coffee, great character, great service, great food. Period. Any questions? Try their blueberry muffins!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrapeEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
329 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great mocha; excellent foodie place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's a small store with a large selection. The latte and mocha took some time to prepare and were well worth the wait. I haven't had such a good mocha in more than 30 days on the road. The deli had excellent sandwiches and prepared side salads. We grabbed one of their BLTs which they toasted for us before we left. This is an excellent find for the foodie who is looking for good coffee and a nice deli experience. Of course, there's all the other stuff you can grab off the shelf that you might want for a lunch or a picnic.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bench Market also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Bench Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing