We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great view and service”

The Bistro at Hillside Winery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bistro at Hillside Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 195 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riddle Road
Description: Head Chef Brent Pillion and his team at The Bistro serve exceptional, contemporary wine country cuisine complemented by breathtaking views of vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Located in the heart of Naramata Bench wine region, Hillside prides itself in proving its customers with the “Ultimate Naramata Experience”. Hillside’s well-equipped cellar, under the direction Winemaker Kathy Malone, produces top quality Okanagan Valley wines destined for many markets. Unique, small-lot, and terroir-driven are terms best used to describe our wines. Our focus is showcasing hand-crafted wine made exclusively from our estate vineyards and other Naramata grape growers.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great view and service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The view from the upper deck is fabulous. We had a great male waiter who was attentive and helpful. I had charcuterie to start and a spaghettini main dish. My spouse had a steak main. The food was very good and well worth the price. The wine, however, was mediocre. I would certainly return for the food, but not necessarily the wine. Highly recommend lunch here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    129
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent food great atmosphere we will return food very fresh and wine pairing excellent wine prices very reasonable we will return. Thankyou

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service, bad atmosphere, rude people.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Went there through a wine touring company with a group of friends and right from the beginning they did not want us there. The company we went through had called ahead to all the winery's to let them know we were coming but they said they were never told. They also had a 5 dollar tasting fee, which we were all prepared for, so once we payed they set out the glasses for us and the man began to pour our tasters. Now usually at a tasting they tell you a little bit about the wine but this time the only thing he said to us was "this one is the Pinot Gris". Immediately after we were all finished that once he pour the next one and said "this one has peach flavors". So within 5-10 minutes we had tasted all their wines and knew nothing about them. A few of us wanted to buy a few so we lined up to pay. The first person went to use her debit card and the transaction didn't go through. She asked to try again because her card had money in it and that the machine just must not be working. He started getting frustrated and was not letting her try again until her boyfriend had to convince him to. Finally it went through so she asked for her tasting fee back because it is waved when you buy something and he was frustrated when she asked for that back. The next two people including myself, cards would not work on his debit machine and he was taking it out on us. So I ended up paying cash and did not realize until later that I never got my tasting fee back. Overall worst experience with a winery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanimal-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to eat in the penticton area. I had the pork cheeks and my wife had the gnocchis. They were excellent. They make this red wine mustard which was really tasty. I will come here again the next time I come to this area

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and view”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed the pork cheeks (sorry, but I hear that the restaurant is planning on discontinuing this dish) which was outstanding. I would travel from Vancouver to have this dish again. The bistro serves only wines produced on site, which is good and bad. Good because you can taste the wines paired with the wonderful food and bad because some of the wines are not up to par with the quality of the food.
Enjoy your meal on the rooftop patio and get a panoramic view of Lake Okanagan and west side mountains over the Naramata vineyards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hannsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro at Hillside Winery also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Bistro at Hillside Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing