We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top Indian ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine

Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 184 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: TASTE THE REAL INDIAN FOOD. We’ll make each dish to your liking, from mild to extra spicy and everything in between.Please come and join us for lunch or dinner. We also provide Takeout and Delivery
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Top Indian ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten in a number of curry houses around the world this place compares with the best. Once we'd overcome the lime pickle / mango pickle confusion (it's an essential with popadams for me), it was straight onto the best tikka masala which was cooked at medium spice to perfection.

Thank you, we miss decent Indian food!

Helpful?
Thank Villatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    58
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is just great - excellent environment - subtle understated calm and just super

The best korma out of the uk, rice light and fluffy, naan soft and tasty - mixed grill fabulous

I would highly recommend this curry house without a single doubt

Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I am amazed at all the great reviews for this restaurant. I agree that it is good value for your money, and the meat in the dishes was very tender, but our butter chicken totally lacked the fragrant indian spices I expect to find in the dish. It tasted more like tomato soup over chicken. I have had much tastier butter chicken from the freezer section of specialty grocery stores. Our Naan bread was warm at best. It would have been much tastier if it had been served piping hot. The lamb rogan josh had nice spices, and the raita was good as well.

The restaurant was quite busy, but I think its because there just is not much competition for in the indian restaurant in our town. If I want full flavoured Indian food, I will still make the drive to the Dawatt in Kelowna where I am always pleased with my meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YuccaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Penticton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My favourite restaurant in Penticton!! The mango chicken and coconut naan are so delicious!!! Great service and affordable pricing with amazing food make this place the best of Penticton!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very efficient, friendly staff at Lachi. The food was perfect, every bite! Try the Indian white wine, it is exquisite and uniquely different from BC wines. Will return again soon. It would have been nice to have a little privacy, as the tables are set up in one smallish room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slsunfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing