We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal!”

Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #9 of 192 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: TASTE THE REAL INDIAN FOOD. We’ll make each dish to your liking, from mild to extra spicy and everything in between.Please come and join us for lunch or dinner. We also provide Takeout and Delivery
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always a good meal!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Been to this place at least 4 times since the Summer; last visit about a week ago. Always busy. Seems to have a dedicated following and what the atmosphere lacks is more than made up by the food and presentation. The flat breads that accompany the meal are fantastic and you can specify how hot you prefer the dish. Always order off the menu and forego the special as the prices are so reasonable. My advice would be to order as quickly as possible as they are a little slow in getting the food out. Typically I wouldn't bother with wine here (I think they have one white on the menu) but I did try an Indian beer once. Seems to be anall in the family enterprize; although on this last visit they have hired some additional outside staff. Patronize a local restaurant and support a hard working family as well ... in my books that is a plus any way you spin it! Will be back again in a month or two.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BertiBoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    70
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great representation of true Indian food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love this restaurant. We go there quite frequently. It is humble but good service and great food. Each dish has it's true flavours, not like some restaurants where all dishes taste the same. Naan is fantastic, veggie curry and tandoori, lamb, chicken curries - all good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 929Josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

as a frequent traveller to India I am always happy to find authentic Indian food here in Penticton. Servings are ample and the roti and naan are just like India. You can chose the level of spice. it is just like being in Rajasthan! wonderful friendly staff also make this my favorite cafe!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laughinglotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room is plain but clean; the food is amazing. I will definitely be back.

The waitress, Carly I think was her name, was very friendly and helpful.

Everything was hot, fresh, and delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munchmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best indian food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family and I used to travel to Oliver to get good indian food, then we discovered lachi and it's even better. All the dishes are amazing and they have the best Naan we have ever had. it's also very reasonable and the owners and staff are very sweet.We try and go as often as we can.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexicoJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing