We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Penticton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Penticton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Calgary
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Penticton at the Coast Penticton hotel. The rooms have been recently renovated - we had a king - top floor. Super comfortable bed, nicely redone bath area with combo Jacuzzi tub and large shower. Location is easy to get to/from. Staff is pleasant. Visited adjacent restaurant for breakfast, but we felt the breakfast was just Ok - but staff again was pleasant. Would definitely stay here again. Good pricing for what you got room-wise.

Room Tip: King room was well appointed and spacious. Did not see other size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimberTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    90
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
81
79
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotels always advertise that they are a home away from home. The Coast in Penticton really is that. From cozy rooms, with deep plush beds, to the most amazing staff I've ever encountered, The Coast is now a destination for me. I stayed here on business for almost two weeks. On day one the staff knew me by name. Every night I returned "home" to a warm greeting and was made to feel as though I was a local and part of the community. For anyone who values Customer Service, Cleaniness and a Personal Touch, The Coast is the accommodation you have been searching for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loza206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great service at this Coast which is conveniently located in Penticton. We were able to park our bikes outside our door on the ground floor. Nice clean rooms. Tasty breakfast and friendly service at the Bear's Den attached to hotel. Reasonable rates for summer time too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia50Kamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
426 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is two hotels in one. It seems as if it was a decrepit old single story building that somehow had two more floors grafted onto it. The upper two floors are newer and apparently ok. The bottom is a pit from Hades. The room BARELY had room for one bed, it's equipped with a small, noisy window air conditioner in a hole in the wall that can almost keep the room cool, the room itself was NOT very clean as you could tell the housekeeping staff just gives the rooms a lick and a promise and not a thorough clean to the corners and under furniture, and although the furnishings and fixtures seem newer, there is no hiding that this was a bottom of the barrel cheap motel built in the 50s or 60s at the time to rent out for $5 a night. And that brings us to the heart of the matter.

ALMOST TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS A NIGHT?

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

At that price, I want a REAL room, not an oversized shoe closet.

COMPLETE UTTER SHAMEFUL RIPOFF.

THE SINGLE WORST VALUE HOTEL ROOM I'VE OCCUPIED IN OVER HALF A CENTURY!

P.S. The indoor pool area is horrible. It's all crumbling, dark, dank, looks like it hasn't been TOUCHED since it was built half a century ago, and could be the worst indoor pool and hot tub area I've ever seen. Just more Coast value for your dollar.

Room Tip: When they ask you for almost $200 offer them $50 and you're STILL OVERPAYING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the desk clerks to the staff around incredible cheerful service. The pools were clean. However the rooms were great. We had the 2bed suite and the beds were perfect, the sheets crisp and the pillows were better than great. Sparkling clean bathroom, clean floors and fiurniture. There were asthma concerns with the 16 yer olds but no problems so obviously very little dust. Don't miss the restaurant attached. It is. Sin to make waffles so good.

Room Tip: Room 210 was where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidneyquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Looks like motel is being updated. Our bathroom had new sink and mirror but old rusty tub. There was an ant trap in the corner. Suggestion: if you need to put them out, at least hide them behind something - not out in full view. Bed was nice as was linen. Just not a spotlessly clean place, corners dusty. Front desk very friendly.

Fine for overnight stay but if I were staying awhile, I'd try for a VRBO.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites which was acceptable but not fantastic. The balconies (with old aluminum windows) are closed in which we didn't care for. The beds were comfortable enough and there were some updates. For example, new sink and taps in the bathroom. However, the bathtub left a lot to be desired. The front desk staff were helpful but the cleaning staff didn't leave enough towels for us and didn't clean any more than they had to. There were 4 of us in the room and we didn't notice until the next morning because the extra towels were supposed to be in the cupboard. This Hotel is old and you can tell if you really look but the price was right and all in all it suited our needs. The food in the attached restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon_Ferguson, General Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Some great feedback and comments for us! Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#2 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#31 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#10 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Penticton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Penticton Hotel

Property: Coast Penticton Hotel
Address: 950 Westminster Ave W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1L2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Penticton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coast Penticton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Penticton
Travelodge Penticton
Penticton Travelodge
Penticton Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing