We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
Reviewed August 18, 2006

The hotel was very good quality. We came in on one of the packages that the had listed, and the restaurant was pretty good, and the service was pretty good, but the breakfast items were not as good as some of the food that we had for dinner. Dinner was a good price being in the package with the amount of food that we were able to get. It is good for many different groups of people, and is good for a lot of people wanting to get away who have more money to spend, as it is not one of the cheapest places, but it is good in the fact that it offers packages.

  • Liked — It was pretty close to some of the proximities that we wanted to get to.
  • Disliked — A bit expensive, but good quality
  • Tips/Secrets — Wait for the packages to come.
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    216
    131
    57
    43
See reviews for
113
252
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We often travel to Penticton; this was the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel but the first & last time with a view room. Our saga began shortly after we checked in (on a Thurs) and unpacked; the front desk called and asked if we would move to another floor as they were expecting a noisy group on the 2nd floor. We had booked this room 6 mos. earlier but OK we moved up to 4 still a view room. Big mistake; we did not sleep a wink that nite and called the desk a couple times about the noise and constant screaming until 3-4 in the morning. We asked to be moved to the back side; ending up moving myself but at least we were out of range of the loud music from the bar and patio area that went on everyday we were there. I can appreciate this a resort hotel, but I think it's only right to get some type of sleep while you're there.
I mentioned our whole visit was affected severely and the manager actually wanted to charge us extra for the view room that we never slept a wink in. I wrote a letter to this effect, but have not had the courtesy of a response. We will not be staying there again and have shared our experience with many other frequent traveller friends and family. For the price we paid, we at least deserved an apology for the vacation we really did not enjoy this time.

  • Liked — location was convenient and views were great
  • Disliked — Extremely loud noise that lasted alll night and non responsive management
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for best room away from the noise; I'm sure they know which area is best
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BlackBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2005

My husband and I have been going to Penticton for over 10 years, and usually stay at the Ramada (highly recommend that hotel). We decided to stay here because the Ramada was full. Our room cost $200, which is okay in peak season at this type of resort.
Here's the good points.....beautiful location. Nice casino. That's it.
Here's the bad points......our room was on the 2nd floor, and as we discovered it was over the bar. Were kept up ALL NIGHT because of the bass of the stereo. Unreal. Also, our room was old, smelly, and looked like the inside of a highwayside motel that cost $50/night.
Went into the Parrot bar/restaurant/pub for dinner. Food was just so average that it was surprising. Their main restaurant has good food, but this place is real bad. Then, it suddenly turned into a nightclub. Music was turned up, and we couldn't find service (ie; a waitress) if our life depended on it. bar filled up with teeny boppers (unbelievable that they let this happen in a higher end hotel). There were two fights in the lobby with a bouncer.......the list goes on.....We were so disappointed.
If you are at all a discerning traveller, please take my advice and stay at the Ramada Inn and Suites.....the location isn't on the lake, but it is on a golf course, and the service and rooms and food is so much better than this hotel.
I did send a letter back to complain about our room, and was given a certificate for a free night from the general manager. I guess that's all they can do, but I can tell you that even with a free night certificate, I still don't think I will ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

We stayed four nights!!
The first shock came when we had to pay 5.00 a day for parking. You had to pay this if you wanted to park in the hotels parking lot.
The hotel has definatley gone down hill. The elevator smelt like body odor. (Time to change the material in it). The hotel room was very noisy at night due to the lakeside bar. They charge more for a lakeside view and more noise. We were rudely waken up each morning by the innkeepers dragging the chairs across the balcony above us at 8:00 o'clock in the morning.
The people below and one over from us were constantly smoking pot on their balcony with the smoke coming up into our room. We complained to the front desk but nothing was done.
It seemed that it was a real pain for the staff in the parrot bar to serve us. We seemed like more of a nuisance than a customer.
I will say we received great service at Magnums at breakfast.
Needless to say we will never stay there again nor recommend it to family members or coworkers.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Oneshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 20, 2004

PENTICTON LAKESIDE RESORT 2004

We have stayed at the penticton lakeside resort every spring and fall for several years,always requesting one of their best rooms.This past April 2004/ Easter, we reserved 3 rooms,our regular
jacuzzi suite plus 2 extra rooms.We arrived on good friday with our grown children and checked in,
our room was disgusting,we have a 3 yearold grandaughter who by this time needed a nap.I was going to lay her down in our room,when I went to pull back the duvet it was absolutely filthy,housekeeping was still working on some rooms on our floor when I approached them they said they would change it right away,but they also told us they don't usually change the duvet covers after each guests stay.This is the most digusting thing I have ever heard,this hotel has really gone down hill it used to be one of the best places to stay in the okanagan.Their Easter brunch was a disaster we were seated in a pub with a 3 yearold.
We were kept up all night by a highschool sports team on our floor,then after spending more than 2 thousand dollars at this Hotel,it took them 4 month's to respond and they offer us a complimentary one night stay in a buisness class room,is this a joke!!! You know what they say word of mouth is the best way to keep your buisness going, so keep writing hotel reviews.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2004

I stayed at the Penticton Lakeside Resort as part of a business trip in July 2004. I can see that this would be a great place to take a vacation, but do not recommend this hotel as a good place to stay for business travelers. The room rate is much higher than other immediately adjacent hotels which look equally nice, the food at the in-hotel restaurants was ordinary, and the rooms are extremely noisy at night, owing to all the partying and music on the beach immediately outside. The Spanish Villa down the road looked a much better bet!

Note also that although the hotel advertises the availability of wireless internet, this works well only from the lobby area. The signal from the hotel rooms is either weak or non-existent.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2004

just fabulous everything..can't say enough about the hospitality I received from all the staff...will go back there again..

Helpful?
7 Thank JuliaDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
1.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#31 of 44 in Penticton
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#25 of 44 in Penticton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 21 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 7M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penticton Lakeside Resort is a full service hotel in Penticton that offers luxurious amenities, clean, spacious rooms, and a spectacular view of Okanagan Lake. We offer a number of dining options, nearby attractions, and room accommodations to ensure that you can thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre And Casino
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre Hotel Penticton
Penticton Lakeside Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing