We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed on the 6th floor facing the parking lot for 5 nights. The room was very clean and quiet. We were both very impressed with the fitness centre and the restaurants on site. The principal reason for me writing this review however, was the friendly helpfullness of the various staff there. In particular Denise Mason (Front Desk); and Steve & Lauren from the Hooded Merganser provided outstanding service. It was so good to see that people still went above and beyond to assist their customers. I really loved the location and the "one-stop shopping" venue for a geat night's sleep; great meals; entertainment (bar/club/casino) and downtown central location. Overall, we had an outstanding stay an look forward to our next visit.

Don M.

Room Tip: Go with the side facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 619 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here back in 2009 to celebrate Valentines. At that time they put us in a room directly above the barking parrot. The room didn't stop vibrating from the base of the nightclub directly below us until 2:30am. They reimbursed us for the room, but that didn't help the migrain I got to live with the next day. Horrible experience at that time.

It's taken us 3 years to give this place a second chance. When I told the person taking the reservation about our previous experience, they did their best to be accomodating. This time they put us on the top floor. We had a Business room which was nice. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine, and christmas goodies. Someone came by asking if we wished more christmas goodies and bottled water. The room was very comfortable! The next morning was a huge challenge. People moving about the hallways were very audible. The soundproofing from the door to the hallway is terrible. We could clearly hear a conversation down the hall. So needless to say, we were awakened too early. The whole point of staying here in the first place was so we could have a good night rest before all the Christmas festivities.

The room came with a $25 breakfast voucher for the Hooded Merganser. Since it was Christmas, the only option there was the $15/each Christmas brunch. Nothing available on the open menu. What a HUGE DISSAPPOINTMENT. For $15 you get your choice of granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, sausage, fries and eggs bennidict. All the food was cold. I went up a couple of times to see if they had replenished anything with hot food, but no. I'm allergic to eggs, so that cut out about 25% of the items offered. This didn't even include a drink. That was an additional price of $2.50 for coffee. We've stayed at many resorts. Sparkling Hills in Vernon offers a $15 buffet, and that will get you a selection of about 50 items.

Would I stay here a third time??? Maybe...Would I eat at the restaurant again...Probably not, waste of money.

Room Tip: Always ask where your room is located. If its directly above the night club, run....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our room and service at check out was so awesome this time BUT...it was so bloody loud early in the am as no security to make sure idiots do not talk so bloody loud outside of rooms and in halls so early in the am and that was not cool and made us so very tired the rest of the day. Really dislike inconsiderate idiots!!! Plus we had a voucher to use for Hooded Merganser restaurant for a buffet breakfast and granola and fruit was so great but pan fries were cold, bacon was cold and only choice for an egg dish was eggs Benedict...what happens when you do not like Benedict??? Out of luck then! For $15 there should be some options and no croissants either??? No toast or pastries either??? Just a word to the wise I think to make things better as $15 for a buffet should include much more. But overall I really like this hotel, please know.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I saw a reviewer refer to their stay as "comfortable" and that sums up my comments as well. The location along the waterfront can't be beat. The beauty of the surrounding mountains and walkways is next to none in the Okanagan. We paid $155.00 including tax for a king bed - off season.

The restaurant food is just okay. We stayed there in the summer as well (didn't write review) and the music coming from the lounge along the water was deafening. You need to ask for a room facing the roadway to avoid the noise. The rooms are just okay as well and could use an upgrade carpet and linen wise (bedspread hadn't been washed since 1990 I'm certain). The decor overall is from the late 90's and the property could use a face lift.

The hotel service is average. The gym staff deserve kudo's for their friendly service. The indoor pool reminds me of a community pool - certainly not a "resort" experience. I get more at a Hampton Inn + Suites. The actual fitness equipment again is old and needs an upgrade.

i sense that the hotel is relying strictly on it's excellent location and really doesn't care about investing in the physical amenities or service experience.

Casino is okay - tight - with mediocre service.

I would probably find another place to stay in Penticton due to the price paid for the return on experience or value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogertravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel in a good location. The beds were comfy and everything seemed very clean. We received a $10 voucher for not requiring any maids service during our two day stay. That paid for a couple of coffees - the breakfast at the restaurant is far too expensive. We didn't use the casino.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Average hotel with somewhat dated decor.

The pros:
Beautiful location if your room faces the lake; other rooms face the parking lot
Proximity to shopping and walking trails
Choice of restaurants right on location
Proximity to casino

The cons:
Walls are paper thin > can hear conversations/water running/etc in adjoining rooms
Alarm clock did not work
Water in small bathroom sink warm at best unless you run the shower first

Staff are friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and clean. Coffee maker could be located somewhere other than the bathroom? Choice of restaurants on the spot: a small town-type pub with good food, a slightly more sophisticated lounge with average food, and a restaurant just outside the door with higher end cuisine (definitely worth walking to).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynSmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear MarilynSmith7,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at our resort. We truly value and appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our lake front location, staff and had the opportunity to experienced our three restaurants on the property.

It is unfortunate you found the walls thin, as our building is a concrete structure which we feel does a great job filtering out noise. I do honestly apologize for the negative experience with the alarm clock and warm water. We are very proactive in ensuring our rooms are constantly upgraded and every detail is attended to. We continue to work hard on this, to eliminate any potential future issues. We do encourage guests to contact us immediately if there are any shortcomings with their experience during their stay which we will be able to address immediately.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future and we are looking forward to hosting you.

Kind Regards,
David Prystay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed with my elderly mom for a few nights. We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is one of the nicest in Penticton, both in location and in the many amenities offered by the hotel. But you do pay for what you get as it is also perhaps the priciest hotel. The rooms are spacious and have great views over the lake, the beach or the city. All the rooms have balconies large enough to sit on. They have several restaurants all with water views and two with outdoor patio areas looking over the lake. The casino is attached to the hotel. Staff is efficient and friendly.

The hotel is located a couple of blocks from the downtown center so travellers have the option of walking 10 minutes or so to other restaurans in the downtown area. The paved walk-way along the beach is very enjoyable (great for walkers and joggers and there is a very pretty Japenese gardens located to the east of th hotel.

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms have wonderful views but face north so little sun on the balcony (cool in fall an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear VanleeVancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your elderly mom enjoyed our hotel rooms, as well as a number of other aspects of our property. We pride ourselves on having a one of a kind, lake front location, on Okanagan Lake and work very hard to provide a full service resort atmosphere for our guests. Although, our prices might be slightly higher, we feel that the variety of dining, entertainment and relaxation options as well as in-room added value more than warrant the difference.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the privilege and pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
David Prystay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
1 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#30 of 43 in Penticton
261 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre

Address: 21 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 7M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range: $134 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penticton Lakeside Resort is a full service hotel in Penticton that offers luxurious amenities, clean, spacious rooms, and a spectacular view of Okanagan Lake. We offer a number of dining options, nearby attractions, and room accommodations to ensure that you can thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre And Casino
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre Hotel Penticton
Penticton Lakeside Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing