We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Star Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valley Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This little place is a Jem. #1 the rates are good #2 the location is great 2 blocks from the beach, right on the main drag. #3 clean ,clean,clean...inside and outside. It has a pole and a Bbq pit. #4 it's family run and and they are over the top friendly....offered to let us join them for a Bbq :) this is the only place I will stay from now on , I just hope they will always have a room available!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingLarge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
38
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Palms, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This motel is well located and well maintained. Owners are very accommodating and the beds are very comfortable. The only downside was the noisy air condioner. The only surprise was the "resort tax" on the bill. I do not recall any other hotels in the area charging this fee. All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ms. Louise,thankyou for staying at Valley Star Motel and also your coments.We regret the air conditioner was not quiet and we shall defininately try to improve on that.We note your concern about the "resort tax". There is no such tax. Listed below is various taxes as mandated by provincial (state) and federal governments:-
Municipal Tax--( applicable to some municipaltiesand Penticton is one of them)
GST --Federal Sales Tax
PST ---Provincial sales and Room Tax

Ms Louise P,should you have any follow up concern re taxes charged,we would be pleased to hear from you as we we want to ensure total satisfaction for all our guests be it local or foriegn.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was my first visit to the Valley Star Motel and it won't be my last visit. This place is amazing. The rooms are clean, the outdoor pool is recently renovated and it is so lovely. The grounds are immaculate, with two gazebo's to sit in and barbeques to use. We had five rooms and each one was different so they are able to accommodate different family sizes. Some rooms had separate bedrooms, some bunk beds, full kitchens or half kitchens. The beds in my room were comfortable and air conditioning worked great. The owners are very friendly and there seems to always be people working in the grounds. You can walk to Skaha lake, it's very close. We had a wonderful week, wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know what your needs are. As far as I could tell all rooms are great, just offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dxq2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thankyou very much for taking time out to express your experience with us at Valley star Motel.We appreciate guest feedback in order to improve on our performace.We are looking forward to wecoming you and your family yet again.

Bimla & Ravin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have been staying at the Valley Star for about 13 years now, started out as a 7 day get-a-way every summer and it has now extended to a 2 week get-a-way every summer.
The rooms are extremely clean, always that yearly surprise of yet another update such as new pool, adding of another gazebo, tile and hardware flooring to name a few.
You get treated like royalty by the owners Bimla and Raveen, nothing you ask of them is ever too much.
I can honestly say that if you give it a try once, you'll be coming back for years to come. You won't be disappointed.
Ellen
Vancouver, BC

Room Tip: In my opinion all the rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

All in all, very good value. Owners were very friendly and informative. King size bed with nice linens and comfortable. Kitchenette was clean and well provisioned. It was a quite location during my stay, for being just off a busy road.

I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discovery1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan lake
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently stayed here after reading the great reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. We had a king size bed with a small kitchenette for 120$/night. The lady politely showed us to our room upon our arrival and the well kept green area with the gazebos was great to relax in after a day of wine touring.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slayer8178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stay here for one night, and it was amazing. We have the king bed suite, a living room, full bath and full kitchen, we paid $120 per night. The playground is a bonus for our little ones. The owner is very friendly and sweet. They have coin laundry, we didn't used it but I'm sure it will come in handy next time when we visit.

Location is very close to he beach, just a few mins short drive.

Will definitely recommend to friends and family, although it's a old motel, but it's very well maintain and clean. We will come back here again next year !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayurealme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
2.8 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.1 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre & Casino
0.0 mi away
Empire Motel
Empire Motel
#9 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Star Motel

Property: Valley Star Motel
Address: 3455 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Valley Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing