We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cute "vintage" motel. Clean & comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Star Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valley Star Motel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cute "vintage" motel. Clean & comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked a room in the Valley Star on the basis of its Trip Advisor reviews, and I must say that my experience was generally very positive.

The beds were quite comfortable - much more so than the much more "posh" Penticton Lakeside Resort, where I had stayed a week previously! - and I had an excellent night's sleep. Road noise was minimal and non-intrusive.

Lots of hot water & great water pressure in the shower; nice big towels.

Unit had EVERYTHING. Two Queen beds, two upholstered chairs, a desk/chair, table with three chairs by large window, full size fridge, gas stove (full size), kitchen sink, microwave, flat screen TV, and fast WiFi.

Very clean overall. Very helpful and friendly owner - was a pleasure to do business with.

Here's the downside of this Motel, because it was what stopped me from rating this place at 5 stars. It *IS* an old facility, and though it is very obviously under good care and is very well-kept, there is that "old motel" smell in the room, most noticeable on the pillows and the upholstered chairs. Could be from the cooking in the room, or just too many people passing through for too many years. Not sure how that could be rectified; it is a feature in every older hotel/motel we've ever stayed in. It's not "awful", but it is there.

Also there was no clock (except clock on microwave), and the reading light over one bed was completely & obviously broken. And the toilet paper holder was lying on the bathroom counter, perhaps in the process of being repaired? Three things very easy to fix. (Room #23.)

I would stay here again, but I would probably bring along my own pillow.

I would recommend the Valley Star to friends, but I would also mention that it is older, and that it has the expected small glitches. But great job, Valley Star owners, in your obvious loving care of all of the details. You're on the right track!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 373Barb123373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
31
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in late May, it was absolutely fantastic. Our room was private and quiet, and the motel itself is in a great location. The kitchenette had everything we needed and we ate in most nights. The price makes it probably the best value place in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thankyou Allie.We are looking forward to welcoming you both to our property again

Kind regards

Bimla & Ravin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRKLAND
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited Princeton for the folk music festival and wanted to see Penticton as well. I'm so glad I booked this motel for two nights. The huge king size bed was sooo comfortable and the location was quiet--no road noise. There was a night stand for my CPAP machine and the owner helped me find the outlet to plug it in. The air conditioning was great--it even had a remote control so I didn't even have to get out of bed to turn it on and off!
The room had a very quiet fridge and a small microwave but wasn't well set up for meals because the only sink was the dinky one in the bathroom. Probably our only complaint was with the size of the bathroom: it was so small there was no counter for toiletries, the toilet paper roll kept coming off the holder and falling into the waste basket and the sink was too small for me to fill up my water bottle. But it was sparkling clean, the shower was hot, and the low flush toilet worked fine.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. When I booked several months ago there wasn't any availability on the internet. The owner told me over the phone that she books rooms herself during the busy summer months. When we arrived they had a vacancy sign up so call when you plan your trip and see what rooms they still have available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHADOWSPRITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Valley Star is a gem of a motel with a great location just a short walk from Skaha Lake. The whole property is beautifully maintained and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nicely decorated with good quality linens and well-equipped kitchens. The prices are great. The saltwater pool was lovely and warm and their lit gazebo and tables in the courtyard are a great place to enjoy the warm Okanagan evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCoast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Valley star motel is clean and very comfortable! There rooms are updated, clean, and well equipped with everything you need! The owners are very nice and try to help you the best they can! It's also minutes away from the beach! We would highly recommend this motel if you want to stay in penticton!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorriento_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
A Big Thankyou to Soriento family.Ravin and I are very appreciative of the positive comments from you.Hopefully we will see again sometime in the future.
Thankyou

Bimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetwynd, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This review is late, but I thought I would share anyway! I have stayed at the Valley Star Motel twice now with our family for hockey trips. Both times were fantastic. The owners are so friendly and very welcoming upon arrival! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. I would recommend the Valley Star to anyone travelling to Penticton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TabYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thankyou, Tab for writing such a great review.Ravin and I really appreciate your comments.We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

Regards

Bimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this motel largely because of the reviews of trip advisor: clean, comfortable, friendly.

We had a big king size bed and a single and pull out sofa for the kids, all were comfortable and clean. Kitchenette was a good size and had the appropriate amenities however the free coffee was not great. Bathrooms were clean and the water pressure was fine. Air conditioning worked great and was a must! The room had a little porch out front which work great for late evening card playing or sitting and talking. The outdoor pool was clean and help take off the edge of the heat. BBQ and courtyard were nice. Location was great, within walking distance of Skaha Lake and a short drive to Okanangan Lake. Staff was friendly and the rate was reasonable - we will return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horatiomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre & Casino
0.2 mi away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#13 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Star Motel

Property: Valley Star Motel
Address: 3455 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Valley Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing