We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valley Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valley Star Motel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“I Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I discovered the Valley Star 3 years ago and have stayed here 4 times. The hosts are excellent and the rooms and grounds impeccable. On my last bicycle trip, Bimla allowed us to leave our bikes/car on site after checkout while we arranged shuttles. I have recommended this to friends and now they too are returning happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    42
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
41
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small, U-shaped motel, with picnic tables, BBQ's and a gazebo and lawn in the centre. There is a seasonal outdoor pool. The room was well appointed with a fridge, stove, microwave, dishes and pots. Everything was very clean. The hotel is about 2 blocks from Skaha Lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The reviews are correct, it is a nice motel. Quiet, clean but dated. Very nice owner. Two things I would change...Quieter refrigerator (very loud compressor) and better lighting. The kitchen is nice. No oven except a microwave though. I would recommend it...it's in a quieter section of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed as a family for a hockey tournament. The owner greeted us and walked us to the room and on seeing we had an extra kid, who tagged along as his parents were delayed, offered us an upgrade to a larger 1 bedroom suite. The service was exceptional. The room was a little dated but very clean. They seem to be renovating a room at a time. We will stay here again. We paid $120 for a 1 bedroom suite otherwise the room rate was $90. It included a kitchen. Not exceptional value. The regular room was not as nice as the suite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryBradshaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosthern, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was an excellent, little hotel. The owners were very kind and helpful. I was upgraded to a kitchen suite with no extra cost, which I quite enjoyed for the 3 weeks I stayed. The rooms are comfortable and updated, and the location is excellent! Only a block from Skaha lake and hiking/biking trails. Overall, cozy and affordable with great owners and a good locale.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Shannon,we thankyou for expressing your appreciation for the experience you had with us .We will continue to strive for even better service to our guests.Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Bimla .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 night at the valley star while in penticton for a concert. The grounds looked clean and taken care of. The motel is old but has been updated. Beds where comfortable. Room had gas stove, microwave, new flat screen tv. Motel is close to skaha beach, mall etc. rate was reasonable for 2 queens.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just finished spending a week at this charming little motel. Only a block from the great beaches of Skaha Lake. Owners were accommodating and kind. They met my needs head on. the one room motel had a super comfortable king size bed, flat screen tv..full fridge, microwave , couch etc. perfect for one or two people to spend a week (especially in the summer on a vacation). I would totally stay here again. Clean, quiet and current.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helly333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We greatly appreciate you taking time out to write your experiece at our motel.Thankyou.We will continue to try to do our best to live up to our guest's expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
2.8 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#31 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#10 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#7 of 44 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Star Motel

Property: Valley Star Motel
Address: 3455 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Valley Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing