We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Sunset Inn

Swiss Sunset Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swiss Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Swiss Sunset Inn
2604 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Alberta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ok, so its not the fanciest place I have ever stayed, but the owner is the most friendly and helpful motel owners I have met. I was attending a wedding in nearby Summerland and due to a last minute change of plans decided to stay in Penticton. We did not realize that there was a huge cycling event in town that was taking up most of the rooms at the local hotels. Fortunately I came across this little place and booked.

Because we were in a time crunch to get the room and get ready for the wedding I called ahead and asked if I could check in early. The owner was awesome and he let us check in at 1:00 pm which was very much appreciated.

Straight up honest, this is an older facility. That said, they take immaculate care of the outside. The parking lot leaves no questions and has designated parking stalls for the rooms. Beautiful flowers adorn the property and the swimming pool is well kept. Nearby there is a little area with patio tables and chairs and two BBQs for customers to use.

The room was definitely retro with the oldest fridge I think I have ever seen (picture wood panel mini-fridge) but it worked and was a nice surprise to have a fridge. The room was clean with the exception of one stain beside the bed. Overall not a deal breaker for me at all. My only complaints are that the lamps in the room did not work and the shower seemed to have a mind of its own and the water suddenly decreased to a trickle mid-shower.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. Customer service was top notch and the location was very good.

Room Tip: Second floor - be warned you have to take the stairs and they are a bit rickity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazycanuckEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our first stay at the Swiss Sunset Inn was in 2003 and we have stayed here 7 times throughout the years. It is a quiet motel with a nice large pool, a sitting area where you can barbecue and best of all a relaxing atmosphere. When our summer vacations bring us to Penticton, we always stay here. We appreciate how Peter (the owner) keeps the grounds well kept and the rooms are clean and tidy. Any issues or problems we have had are fixed and dealt with immediately. We like that he has set quiet hours where the outside lights are dimmed and the No Vacancy sign is lit up so the current guests can sleep undisturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed at the Swiss Sunset Inn many many times over the past 5 years. Peter and his staff go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. I stay here not only for vacation but also during my regular business trips through out the year. The Pool is always perfect and the room are kept to a very high standard. Don't hesitate to spend time at the Swiss Sunset Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just spent a couple of days. Very nice, clean & quiet. Clean rooms& good service
Very well priced. BBQ's are a big plus. Close to the lake. Shopping, restaurants are
close by. Liked the pub next to it, can't remember the name.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AP_8294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Here for the annual bridge tournament. Things started out on a bad note when the manager wouldn't honor the rate he quoted last year. The place is barely adequate if you have low standards, but not anything I could recommend. The rooms are dirty and outdated, the "kitchen units" consist of a tiny stovetop with a mini fridge below, with a sink to the side. Pair this with bent or broken silverware, dirty dishes and glasses, no fry pan, and you get the picture.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estatebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Always a pleasant stay, four years in a row now. The Swiss Sunset is reasonalby priced with friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms. The location is perfect ,close to all the pubs and restaurants as well groceries. Skaha Bluffs climbing is 10 minutes away and good cycling in every direction. I like the fact that when I am done climbing or biking I can relax in a quite and clean room with all the necessary amenities and or outside at the patio tables in the shade. I will be staying again.
Bruce D.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Manager at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank You Bruce for your nice review of our property and we promise you that we will stay the course for cleanliness and customer service and you will be looked after with respect and dignity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

A dainty little motel. Although it is somewhat outdated, it has an almost vintage vibe to it. I would recommend this place for the friendly staff, and the impeccable cleanliness of the rooms and washroom. The beds were comfortable and all amenities were available to us. New tvs and bedding, with free wifi as well was a bonus! Disappointed that the pool was not open for the season yet as we had some nice sunshine during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are much more spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank You for your review and we promise you that you will always be looked after at our little motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.7 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#1 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pass Motor Inn
Pass Motor Inn
#31 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Penticton
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#15 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Sunset Inn

Address: 2604 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing