We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unpleasant conditions”
Review of Swiss Sunset Inn

Swiss Sunset Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swiss Sunset Inn
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
agassiz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unpleasant conditions”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn on the Regatta weekend and were very disappointed in our choice of motel - the carpet was filthy; the sheets on the bed appeared clean but did not fit the bed; the towel rack in the bathroom was broken and the sink's finish needs repair. The grout around the tub could also be replaced. The coffee pot didn't work properly because the filter basket was plugged up with old coffee grounds. The seal around the fridge door was disentegrating and very dirty. Because it was a busy weekend for all motels, it was not possible to find another place to stay. We, as a group, had also received a quoted price which was not honoured at check-in time. After some discussion the following day, we finally received our agree-to price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angus642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we at SWISS SUNSET INN take every comment seriously positive or negative.I am very surprised you did not complain about anything while you were here ,some things are easy fix if brought to attention.We are a small place but we do have the house-keepers in summer months but they are human also.We do have 2 type of sheets king size and queen size they must have put both queen on your bed, king size is supposed to go on the bottom then again easy fix if brought to attention.Dirty coffee pot i could have given you new one and felt sorry because you were our valued guest.We will try our best to attend all your comments before your next visit. By the way about your group rate as soon the mistake was brought to my attention it was addressed right away no question asked why mention.Anyhow Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My two sons and I stayed at the Swiss Sunset in early Aug., during Peach Festival.
We were very happy with our stay there, and found everything we needed. Our kitchenette
was stocked with all that we could possibly need, and we made good use of it. The room, and motel itself, are very well-maintained (super clean!), and this would include the pool. The pool was a big hit with my boys!
In addition, the owner is very kind and helpful, and made us feel most welcome (even before we arrived!)
A great place to stay with kids!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.Sorry to acknowledge your comment little late because as you know we were very busy in summer months.We thank you again for liking our property and what we offer.We at SWISS SUNSET INN welcome you back again and your family and friends Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This motel is very dated, but its clean,the rooms are roomy and the location is quite central to shopping & restaurants.
The pool area is well maintained and it has a lil green space with a bbq and tables where you can sit and relax.
The beds are pretty comfortable,bathroom was spotless, but the shower temperature is pretty bad, freezing to sizzling in seconds!!
AC does need to be updated, did very little to cool down the room. But this could also be because of the location of the unit, opposite side of the sleeping area. A fan would help this situation.
Owner & staff very friendly & pleasant.
I would stay here again, its not fancy but it was clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.We take all the feedback very seriously positive or negative.I as a owner operator appreciate your comment because it brings the true picture of our property in front of all the other guests who are looking to book .We are a old motel as you said and most of the motels in town of the same age.I am here for last 10 years no new motel built because business is only 3 months.As you mentioned clean that is we feel proud of. We are above average motel not a 4or5 star or complete disaster as some people mentioned.If you are frustrated with some else please don't take your frustration with negativity. Cleanliness is very important in our business and we do take care of that as you mentioned because you as a guest is not going to be with us forever.We will try to address all the other issues you mentioned before your next visit.Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Showers were terrible in that the temperature changed from burning hot to freezing cold within seconds. Shower head height suitable for children only. Air conditioning iced up and stopped working when needed the most at night. Hair drier flipped the breaker because it can't be used while air conditioning running. No room for luggage. Bed was terribly uncomfortable and we were so sore we had to leave and book elsewhere. No refunds. Overall poor value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandgirlz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review even though it is all negative.I am almost positive you were upset because of the refund.Let me tell you, once you checked in or we are holding the room for you 1 night has to be paid. You are talking about the shower heads water cold and hot that means it explains to everybody who is reading your comment that you completely checked in and why you expect refund.Please don' t give negative comments to any property because you are upset for some other reason.I as a OWNER/OPERATOR can take good and bad feedback and more than happy to fix the bad ones.I am sorry not to refund your money because you completely checked-in took showers and all that.We still hope to have you back because we have not done anything wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I haven't stayed in a motel for years and I was a little nervous when I booked this one for the BC Day long weekend but it was a great stay all around. The interior of the motel rooms are certainly a little dated but clean and cheerful. The bathroom was spotless and the mattresses were comfortable, including the sofa bed mattress which is unusual. The kitchen was functional although the appliances are old. The fridge could even be called retro but despite the age it was in great condition and spotlessly clean. The pool was really well maintained too and the grounds have nice little flower beds and potted plants. Clearly the owners put in a lot of effort. The manager was courteous and efficient. I would have no hesitation recommending this place to anyone looking for good value and pleasant accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.We are pleased to read that you were completely satisfied with your stay at our property.In our business cleanliness is the most important thing which we do take care of. Dated stuff we are trying to change old things slowly one at a time. right now we are putting in new flat screen TV's, hopefully we replace them all.Thanks again for your comments and looking forward to have you and your family and friends again as our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Swiss Sunset Inn and we enjoyed every second. Very relaxing and welcoming atmosphere, ideal for our large group of people! The rooms were clean and fully equipped. We will definitely be returning to stay here for our future vacations in Penticton!
-Jennie & Edi

Room Tip: Every room is great because they are steps away from the pool and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for your review ,sorry to acknowledge very late because i did not know that i can respond.Next time i will respond very quick.We at SWISS SUNSET INN appreciate your stay with us and looking forward to have you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have been staying at the Swiss Sunset Inn for the last three years for an annual ball tournament. We have tried a lot of other establishments in the area, but we keep returning to the Swiss. The rooms are spacious and clean. The parking is right outside your room. We had no problems connecting to the internet. The BBQ facility allowed us to have large gatherings and is located beside the pool; which was very convenient. Peter was friendly and very accommodating to our needs. One of his BBQ went down and he had a replacement within the hour. Great customer service! We have no complaints. Overall, the Swiss is great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone travelling through Penticton.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you much for your review of our property and we appreciate very much staying with us each and every year with your group and looking forward to have you again next year.I am sorry to respond to your review very late because i never knew that i can.Thanks again Derek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.3 mi away
Pass Motor Inn
Pass Motor Inn
#33 of 44 in Penticton
47 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.7 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 44 in Penticton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
5000 Motel
5000 Motel
#17 of 44 in Penticton
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#40 of 44 in Penticton
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Empire Motel
Empire Motel
#8 of 44 in Penticton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Sunset Inn

Property: Swiss Sunset Inn
Address: 2604 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Swiss Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing