We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Penticton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline(Penticton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
44
56
79
44
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
56
79
44
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslots of parkingbit datedan upgradeokanagan lakecourtyardkitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 264 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Very updated room, nice shower, two bath robes provided, well furnished, very modern corner room with big windows the entire length of 2 walls, good value, ask for diner coupons @ front check-in, friendly welcome, was able to park motorcycle at entrance under protection from elements and security. Highly recommend this Hotel. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our updated rooms and friendly front desk team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Check-in and out very good. Friendly staff. Good nights sleep, king bed good, hotel quiet for weekend but most guests were there for granfondo cycling event and needed their sleep! Terrible elevator access with only one tiny elevator. Stairways narrow and dark, carpet needs replacing. Room in pretty good order, carpet good, clean, good working desk and chair, air-conditioner worked, nice to have corner unit for extra window light. Bathroom vanity non-existent. Bathroom needs updating but worked ok. Hi Fi good for laptop but wouldn't work for iPad. Frustrating! Room clean and spacious enough to accommodate bikes and gear. Would stay again. Not fancy, but met our needs.

Room Tip: Room 344, corner unit good even though located by stairways exit. Good view of parking lot for car security. A/C noise seemed ok. Corner unit bright with double windows.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and had a good nights sleep. We are always updating and renovating our product to better suits our guests needs. We value your feedback and constructive comments and look forward seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

not the newest but better then a lot in pentiction, desk clerk was there to help when it was needed
the rooms were clean and well kept every thing was in working condition, better than a lot of the motels in pentiction and a lot cheaper than most a lot of the motels are dives and not worth staying at, will stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywander04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to maintain a quality standard of offering our guests a good room at a good price and it sounds like we hit our mark. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed one nite at the sandman in penticton.. the room was tiny, had a horrible odor, the hotel was noisy inside the hallways at nite (after midnite) whether it be doors slamming or people walking up and down the hallways.. as well as people in other rooms who want to party with thier windows open till 6am.. no mini fridge in the room, very little channels on the tv, and although it was nice to see *security* walking through the hotel, i think thier attire needs to be addressed... not professional what so ever... i would not stay at this hotel again..i guess for the price though the young kids can afford this hotel and get away with no respect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear we fell short in your expectations. We certainly value your feedback and constructive comments. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Keeping in mind that this is not a fancy property, 3 stars and no more. Knowing what to expect from a hotel before booking it will always result in a more pleasant experience for you!

Given this, I was happy with the Sandman Penticton while visiting this past May Long weekend with my two teenage girls and our dogs. They have a good number of pet-friendly rooms on the main level and do not charge any additional fee for having them, which is really nice. Same rules as all pet-friendly hotels, of course, do not leave your pets unattended in the room, you're responsible for cleaning up any messes, and keep them quiet. Our room was clean and tidy, the carpet a bit dated but I always expect this in pet-friendly rooms for obvious and practical reasons on the hotel's part.

There are a variety of rooms available, including some nice inner rooms facing into the pool atrium. Those which are not for guests with pets that I saw have updated carpets as well.

The pool is clean, a decent size, has a separate hot-tub and my girls really enjoyed it. The atrium in general is a nice place to relax.

Location-wise it is excellent, close to Okanagan beach, the channel, restaurants, shopping, golf course, highway, etc. Plenty of parking, we never had any trouble finding a spot relatively near the doors.

They could have used a few more agents at the front desk, but those whom we dealt with - Taylin and Irene - were quick, efficient and very friendly.

In terms of pure "bang for your buck", the Sandman Penticton is great all-around value.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose an upper floor as the sound does carry if you have heavy-footed upstairs neighbours. That said, if travelling with pets, I am fairly sure only main floor rooms are available for such.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased we were able to meet your needs with our pet friendly rooms and great location. It is always a pleasure to hear that you found great all around value in your stay and the amenities we offer to our valued guests. I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our Front Desk team that you dealt with and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews