We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My sister, mother and I drove all the way from Calgary and stopped at this hotel for the night. We were pleasantly surprised with the price, and the welcoming we received from, Kevin, the gentleman at the front desk. Our room was exceptionally clean and well equipped with everything we needed: a microwave, coffee maker, mini-fridge, tv, air-conditioning etc. Additionally, the lobby is beautiful as is the courtyard and indoor pool area. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that was poolside which is great because you can walk out of your room into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDMANPENTICTON, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on offering our guests great value and outstanding service! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 261 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is the 3rd year in a row my sister and myself have stayed at the Sandman Hotel Penticton for the annual Elvis Festival! My sister has special needs and is now almost full time in a wheel chair. The kind staff were extremely helpful, understanding, and quick to provide us with anything we we asked for, from an ongoing supply of towels, Vic from maintenence with room modifications as well as cheerful conversation about nature, information and directions for all local businesses. Although there was a mixup with our room, we require the handicap room with the roll in shower, and they are the only hotel in town with one, they quickly fixed it in a couple of minutes. The daytime manager Irene is the BEST, we reserved for next year for the same room. Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou for making our 10th annual festival stay a great one! See you next year!

Room Tip: 104 for special needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktsearow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDMANPENTICTON, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take great pride in our customer service and are pleased your stay with us was a great one!. We look forward to seeing you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Sandman Hotel Penticton. The staff were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful.

The location was great - it's not right on the lake but it is a short walk to the beach, a small park, and the local mini-golf course. I went for a run by the lake and it was VERY windy, so the location of the hotel a few blocks from the lake was definitely more sheltered, I didn't hear the wind at all in my room. I also didn't hear any noise from the parking lot that my room overlooked and had a great uninterrupted sleep.

I had a corner room, which had a ton of windows. I absolutely loved that I could open all the blinds and have some fantastic natural light! As a business traveller, the room was perfect with a comfy bed, small fridge, desk area for work and a comfortable cushy chair for reading and relaxing. They also have Pharmacopia branded shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soap in the bathroom. I purchase this brand to use at home, and as a business traveller who spends 30% of my time in hotel rooms, I so appreciate having nice products and not the cheap crap that is normally provided in hotels. The one detractor to the room was that it's not possible to open the windows, however this was just a small inconvenience and the room was a comfortable temperature so not a necessity.

I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but I did peek in and abosolutely loved the ambiance of the area around the pool. Lots of plants, and at night it was very low lighting - such a relaxing environment to go for a swim and relax in the hot tub after a long day.

I had a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjwTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of us at Sandman work very hard in providing a relaxed and inviting atmosphere for all of our guests. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay and that our amenities were to your liking. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact the hotel at your leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The 4 or 5 bites on my arms and legs are enough to negate any other comments to the positive. I wish I would have read the reviews before staying but I was in a hurry for the Mellencamp concert. If there were no bugs, the place should go for $89 bucks as that's about the value of it.Stay out of room 256!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Earsmy2cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

In response to your comments, Sandman has an active pest control program utilizing trained employees and a reputable pest control company that personally checks guest rooms and other areas of the hotel on a routine basis. Sandman also uses protection covers, kits and other resources certified by entomologists in our guest rooms for added reassurance. As the hotel was not notified during your stay or at check out of the concerns it is hard to speculate the exact cause of the bites. However, having the exterior window open in your room would attract unwanted pests such as mosquitoes. Sandman Penticton always takes these concerns seriously and as a precaution our professional pest control company was called in to completely inspect the room and surrounding rooms. On inspection of the rooms the pest control company found no evidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very short for towels, only 1(one) of each size.
Not every room has a simple fridge or cooler
Rooms are very stuffy not very fresh!
Rooms are very small
Unless your room is pool side it is a long........way to the pool
The pool it self is very small..only 3 feet deep very dark at night
The hot tub switch is a guessing game as to were it is, not marked very well
Do not get a corner room, as early moring deliveries ar very loud!!!
Last but not least ......................They do not offer a "Senior' Rate!!!!!!!!!!!!!! .

Room Tip: check around for a better room one that offers and will cater and accomodate the CUSTOMER with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDMANPENTICTON, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for your comments and staying with Sandman Penticton. I did want to respond to a few of your concerns and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you at your leisure.
Sandman Penticton in a room with one bed (for example) will supply 4 bath towels, 2 hand towels and face cloths; we will always deliver more towels on request. In fact we are always available 24 hours a day for guest requests or concerns. Our pool is located in the center of the hotel on the ground floor and has four entrances for guests to use to enjoy our pool. I apologize that you were unable to locate the whirlpool on/off switch, we do have 4 directional signs in place but it seems that we may have to add additional or relocate the existing signage. You mentioned that Sandman Penticton doesn’t offer a senior rate, however, we have a senior’s rate for those 55 plus that we gladly offer. Along with promotional rates that can sometimes be cheaper then seniors rate. Again, thank you for your comments and it was our pleasure having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was here by myself with a large tour group.....still, I had a great nites sleep, clean room, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool sides of the motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fairly comfortable room. I was right by the stairwell (2nd floor)so quite noisy from people coming and going. Had a room facing the indoor pool which added to noise factor so next I will ask for one to the outside. Bathroom plumbing leaked and the tub fixtures were a bit hard to figure out. Other than that a good place to stay although a little far from downtown area. Right next to the convention center was nice as i was attending a conference. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and normal for a sandman. Pool was clean. Denny's onsite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nscott6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDMANPENTICTON, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sandman Penticton. Your comments are valued and appreciated. Although we try not to rent out rooms in high traffic areas (stairwells, elevators, vending areas) sometimes we have no choice due to availablity.

Your suggestion of asking for an exterior facing room would reduce the amount of pool noise and provide you with a lovely view of Penticton. We do keep strict pool hours in order for all our guests to enjoy the pool but also to minmize any potential noise in the morning and evening.

Again, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 43 in Penticton
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#36 of 43 in Penticton
81 reviews
0 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#6 of 43 in Penticton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Penticton

Address: 939 Burnaby Ave, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Penticton 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Okanagan Valley wine country, Sandman Hotel Penticton is extremely well situated for guests to take advantage of all local amenities. Featuring two large lakes, a new destination casino, 70 world-class wineries and dozens of golf courses, Sandman Hotel Penticton is a great choice for your next vacation. Also catering to business travelers, this hotel has all the modern amenities such as high-speed Internet, a business centre, and meeting facilities. Sandman Hotel Penticton makes your travels a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandman Hotel Penticton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing