We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
Ranked #3 of 18 Penticton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Exceptional location and hospitality”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying for one week at Serenata, as a base to explore the Okanagan valley. Naramata is by far the most beautiful place in Okanagan, and it was the perfect place being central in the Okanagan, out of which to explore other regions. Everything was exceptional - the hosts Colleen and Jake were so warm and cared for every detail of our stay in a very personalized way, the gardens were exquisite - a real oasis of tranquility, Colleen's breakfasts were exceptional and different everyday and always made with the freshest of ingredients, the rooms were clean, well decorated, spacious and of the highest standard. The view onto the Naramata bench and Okanagan Lake was unsurpassed. And... Colleen's wine-making ability shows here true artistic strengths - her wines were of the best quality we were able to find in the entire Okanagan. I recommend Serenata for anyone looking for that exceptional stay. The value for money and quality is of the highest I've ever found in my travels across the globe. Congratulations and Thank you Colleen and Jake for making our week so special!!

Room Tip: Luxury Valley view room was exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
128
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow, what a fabulous place. We needed a little get away for some greatly needed relaxation. Could not have picked a better place. As soon as we turned into the drive way, and into the beautiful landscaped grounds, stress started melting away. Once we settled into the rooms, it was off to the patio to enjoy a chilled bottle of wine from Jake & Colleen's winery and a plate of fresh fruit and cheese. Fabulous way to start our 3 day stay. Jake and Colleen are incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. They recommended restaurants, made reservations, helped book a wine tour and a variety of other miscellaneous things from fruit stands to hiking trails. The rooms were beautiful - newly decorated with lots of old word charm (no sterile cookie cutter hotel rooms here). Each morning Colleen prepared a delicious breakfast - something different and yummy each day (personal favourite was the french toast - but everything was great). Thank you Jake & Colleen for providing this oasis of tranquility and making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been coming to Penticton for 2 weeks every year for the last 10 years. This year I decided to try something different for our anniversary and figured we needed a night away from the family and kids. I took my wife to the Serenata as a surprise. I was looking for peace, quiet and serenity as well as a little romance. Well, we received way more than that! What an incredible stay with Jake and Colleen. The second we walked in the door we felt like we had been coming here for years. The hospitality is incredible! Everything was perfect for that one night getaway for my wife and I. Needless to say we will be returning next year. The only thing that would make the experience even better would be to develop that awesome little lookout point and cut down that little Christmas tree. Thank you guys so much! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynxboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were three days on the Naramata Bench to taste and tipple in early August 2013 and we chose Serenata on fairly short notice via their website. No regrets! We were very pleasantly surprised. Through the gates and up the drive to a lovely, purpose-built guesthouse - not a B&B (although the included breakfast was a delight) and not a hotel (too small and friendly). Surrounded by lovely grounds and gardens, with some great views - especially from the Adirondack chairs at the lookout. The room we had was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable. Jake and Colleen treat you like family and, if you like to taste wine, they are excellent guide / advisors as they own and operate the 3 Mile winery just down the Bench road. It's like having best friends who run a winery and specialize in hospitality. Make sure to taste their Shiraz!!

Room Tip: We were in a room that is actually part of a larger, family sized suite and we had our own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMcFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Serenata two weekends in July. Both times it was like staying at a friend's house. Colleen and Jake are so gracious and welcoming. Jake even drove us to and from a wine club event. Breakfast every morning was delicious and a wonderful time to socialize with other guests. The grounds are beautiful, would be a great setting for a small wedding. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrimcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rednitzhembach, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

First of all it was a nearly perfect stay.
Serenata Guesthouse is In the middle of a beautiful garden with many cosy corners where you can relax. The big-sized rooms have great views in the garden or to the lake.
The interior design is new but a little bit too old- fashioned for modern- European taste (carpets and artificial flowers). And the towles smelled a little bit.
The hosts, Jake an Colleen, were very nice and supporting.
Colleen prepared the breakfast by herself and the most guests were enthusiastic about it. but you have to be used to healthy North-American breakfasts. Every guest got the same: some warm egg dish with potatoes. Nothing for European stomachs.

Room Tip: Room number 4 is the biggest and the only one with an own balcony (with lake view) and yakuzi. And i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaCulinaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen419, Owner at E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
To respond to your "nearly perfect stay" review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.at Serenata and that the rest of your trip in Canada was a great experience. I wish to comment on some of your review as I feel some people may get the wrong impression of our Guesthouse. The comment "old fashioned" is not really fitting to Serenata but the word ornate would better describe the quality furnishings and décor. The newer luxurious carpet in the upper floor is designed to better insulate for noise for the lower floor rooms and there are a few tasteful silk topiary but we also have fresh flowers throughout the building. Our linen is fresh laundered so I am not sure what smell you refer to, possibly the detergent we use is quite different than the European type. When it comes to one of our breakfasts and your reference to an omelette as "some warm egg dish with potatoes" I have to say that everyone loves these farm fresh omelettes from our own organic free range chickens on site) made with fresh peppers, mushrooms, green onions, tomatoes, aged cheddar cheese etc. with pan seared new potatoes, toasted grain bread accompanied by fresh herbs and fruits, fresh orange juice and coffee/tea. Sounds a little more appetizing. We would have gladly prepared something more to European taste if requested.The final comment on our mention of Bill Cosby's stay and our nickname "the Cosby Suite" is just a little humor. I wanted to make sure no one misses out on the opportunity to having a wonderful vacation experience with us by misinterpreting your comments. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the large room upstairs where Bill Crosby had once stayed, and it was absolutely lovely. Bed was super comfortable, air temperature nice and cool, very quiet and private, a lovely balcony with a great view. Jake and Colleen were extremely flexible to our schedule, and really made us feel welcome in their house. We arrived late, and also had a super early morning before the Granfondo. DELICIOUS Breakfast from Colleen. A perfect romantic get away, and quiet location from which to check out Penticton, Naramata, wineries etc. Bathroom complete with soaker tub and French style bidet! What fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
2.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
6.8 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
1.3 mi away
Cormier's Studio
Cormier's Studio
#1 of 18 in Penticton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat

Property: E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
Address: 1056 Corbishley Ave, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8V3, Canada (Formerly Serenata Guesthouse Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Vineyard Retreat overlooking the Okanagan Lake, Naramata wine bench and Okanagan valley. Situated within the heart of the Okanagan Wine Region on the edge of Munson Mountain, with an elevated view over the Naramata wine bench. Explore the entire Okanagan Valley and wineries from this central location, or enjoy front of doorstep access to the famous KVR trail. Offering elegant and luxurious accommodations on 10 acres of pristine hillside with spectacular views of the surrounding orchards, vineyards, mountain, valley and lake. Choose 1 of 6 beautiful guestrooms in the main house, or a secluded cottage with private gardens. The cottage and garden suites offer kitchenettes; for all other rooms we include breakfast that celebrates local products including our very own farm fresh eggs. All offer sophistication within a setting of pure comfort with special touches that promote pure relaxation, romance or adventure. Come enjoy gorgeous views from our various terraces, relax in our gardens, or take a stroll through our vineyards. It is all here just waiting for you to explore at E'Laysa...on the Naramata Bench. ***Coming soon - three additional french country style suites in July 2016, and a pool area in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing