We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Penticton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Overall Disappointing ”
Review of The Buffet

The Buffet
Ranked #151 of 225 Restaurants in Penticton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At $10 for a brunch buffet, I guess you should temper your expectations, but at a casino, inexpensive buffets are part of the deal, so decent food shouldn’t be too much to ask. Being a brunch buffet, obviously there was both breakfast foods and lunch items. As for the breakfast items, the scrambled eggs were an odd spongy texture, and appeared to have been cooked right in the steam tray pan. The waffles were dense and dry, as if they were a pre-made heat and serve product, and the pancakes were the colour of the batter, almost no browning whatsoever. The bacon was very undercooked, the fat still being white on some strips. However, the breakfast sausages were quite good, as were the tater-tot style hash browns.
The lunch foods were equally inconsistent. The turkey pasta was odd; rather than a cream sauce, it was served with a tomato sauce that tasted like jarred sauce from a grocery store, and the turkey was conspicuous by its absence. They had breaded haddock fillets that had obviously been cooked a long time before being served, and were hard and dry. There was ham slices in an orange mustard sauce then was fairly good, as well as some okay baked chicken pieces.
Even at $10, this isn’t good value.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank HungryInTheHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2019

Drove by it, thought it looked good so gave it a try. Woman at the front desk was rude to begin with. Tried to guilt us into a “Casino Card,” and proceeded to bad mouth a co worker in front of us. Terrible first impression.
In terms of food, you get what you pay for (about 22$ including tax/person). Rice was dry and cod tasted days old. Beef vegetable soup was awful. Would not recommend for quality of food or service.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank travelqueenforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Probably the worst food I have tasted in ten years or more. The buffet was nearly empty of food at 11:45 in the morning. What was there resembled what one would expect at an underfunded seniors home. Tasteless does not begin to describe it. The much vaunted dessert buffet was a bad joke. At $10 a plate, this place is over priced by $9.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 33,895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We had heard that The Buffet was one of the best in Penticton so we added it to our list.
We are not sure why it received such a poor rating on Trip Advisor but we ate there twice for dinner and once for lunch.
We do agree that they seemed more than a bit lackadaisical in regards to restocking the food in the serving line.
Several of the dishes were empty when we arrived (at all three meals) and it seemed to take forever for them to get around to getting more.
On a positive note, when they did restock, they brought a new tray like they are supposed to (instead of simply adding to the old one) and the fact that it was all new meant it was fresh.
One meal included all you can eat soft tacos including fresh guacamole which were fantastic.
Another meal featured beer battered Cod which was fantastic.

Being in the Casino building meant gambling and one of the things featured is a machine which allows members to swipe their card for a chance to win free gifts.
We misunderstood what was explained to us and thought they said they had coupons for The Buffet when they meant the coupons could be good at one of the two restaurants.
The first thing we won was buy one get one coupon for lunch so we used it and somewhat enjoyed the lunch
When we swiped and won a buy one get one free dinner, we automatically assumed it was for the Buffet but it was not.
We enjoyed the dinner as that was the taco night.
We went back a third time and got a free meal and then learned that they also offer a frequent diner program.
It is a shame that no one mentioned it earlier as we had six meals at the place.
Oh well.
It definitely pays to ask questions

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonathan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

We had a 2 for 1 coupon so we decided to try the buffet. Terribly disappointed by food selection and the quality of food. Staff seem indifferent to customers. In the 45 minutes we were there, many items were not restocked ( salad bar fixings, fruit, etc). What was available to eat was poor. Do not recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank littlepearhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buffet also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing