We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A+++++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Log Cabin Motel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A+++++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our home away from home. All praise, no complaints at all from this family of 7. Owners are very hospitable. Clean, comfortable, very spacious, well maintained, heated outdoor pool, turn key, great location, walking distance from the beach....what more can we say..We give it a A++++++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Public Relations Manager at Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words Melissa. Hoping to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here two summers ago for two nights. On our last night we had been out for dinner at Anothony's pub across the street and when we returned had a few drinks in our cabin. Before turning in for the night I noticed a zip up bag on the top shelf of our closet. When we opened we were VERY surprised to find used heroin needles and empty dime bags that were clearly once filled with the drug. We immediately took this to the owners attention. He was VERY rude and acted as though he had no idea what it was or why it might be there. He ended up taking 20$ off our total, which I think is a crock considering how dangerous those needles are. Imagine a family had been staying in this cabin and a child had found them? We took lots of pictures just in case the owner tried to deny it. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the review Chelsea. We welcome all feedback, good and bad. I remember your stay here because it was an unprecedented occurrence. As you stated, you did not even find the bag yourself until your last night in the room, meaning it was not in full view for our cleaning staff.

I am sorry you thought my behaviour was rude.

This was the first time since 1986 that such an incident occurred. It was defiantly an isolated incident.

Since your brought this to our attention we are more diligent in checking our room after clients leave.

We are a family oriented motel with 80% of our clients being repeat customers who have been coming here to 17 years and who would certainly vouch for our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
403 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Both times I have stayed here the owner has been very kind and helpful . The first time we stayed in a 2 level suite with a jacuzzi . Last time was a basic room , but it was very well taken care of . Penticton is small enough , so it is easy to get around . The motel is very close to Skaha Lake . This is my place to stay whenever we visit in the future .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Guest Relations Manager at Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review Skwiki. I will pass the glowing comments on to Leon. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Log Cabin a few times in recent years. I was very surprised when Leon, the owner, remembered me when I checked in as it had been a few years since my last stay. As I was uncertain of the length of time I was staying due to a death in my family, Leon was very accommodating and booked me a one bedroom kitchen unit, so I would be more comfortable during this stressful time. The unit was very clean.

The 1st floor unit was quiet, spacious, the bed very comfortable, had windows that opened and individual thermostat controlled temperature.

I was very impressed and moved that the hotel proprietor would the go a second mile checking on me when my car hadn't moved or been seen for a day, to ensure that I was alright or if I needed anything.

I ended up staying 5 days, and was grateful when Leon adjusted the nightly rate on check out.

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drosera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Log Cabin for 3 nights at the Penticton Dragon Boating Festival last week. Our room had a queen and single bed as well as a small pull out couch in living room. Room had kitchen facilities and was kept clean. Nothing fancy about this place BUT clean,access to bbq, close to beach and restaurants. We enjoyed the pool with friends. Close walking distance to restaurants and essentials. Would stay again if looking for no frills but clean and practical accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mervyy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at log cabin. Check in fast, rooms clean and comfortable. Priced right for style of motel, $75 for mid week. Its no frills but nice pool and barbque area and close to skaha beach.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snooky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. Very friendly, helpful. Beautiful spot and very nice room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.6 mi away
Swiss Sunset Inn
Swiss Sunset Inn
#22 of 44 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#10 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.3 mi away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#13 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.4 mi away
5000 Motel
5000 Motel
#24 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin Motel

Property: Log Cabin Motel
Address: 3287 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Log Cabin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented Motel. We are a block and a half to the beach and major shopping. The pool is heated to a very nice warm temperature. There are BBQ's and picnic table to cook and entertain all day long. Your children will love playing in the grassy area with lots of children’s toys to climb on. Leon will great you with a friendly smile upon your arrival. We also have two Jacuzzi sweets, perfect for a special getaway with your sweetheart, or for newlyweds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Log Cabin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing