We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ironman simplicity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sea Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
1 review
“Ironman simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for my Ironman race. Didn't need anything fancy but needed to prep my own meals. This was perfect. Small rooms but very clean and simple. I would stay here again. I could swim right from across the street for practice. Could walk only a couple blocks to transition setup. Was far enough away from the finish line to not hear all the hub-bub the night before so I could get some sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a great spot with very friendly owners. right on the beach and close to everything. excellent spot for the kids and safe. decent rooms with kitchenettes. right next to Salty beach house and the Vallarta restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePfromGTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Loved being able to run back to motel from beach just across the street. We arrived early, but our room with kitchenette was already cleaned and ready to go. Building is older, but clean and had parking for our large SUV. Right next to Mexican restaurant, Salty's and cheaper ice cream shop to the west. About a 10 minute walk to the canal float. Farmer's market is about a 20 minute walk - good idea to bring bicycles to get around east part of town. Stayed over Thursday and Friday nights and was worried about noise level, but room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Family owned, safe, clean, PRIME location, steps away from the beach. We stayed in 29, two twins & queen beds, kitchenette. Sleep was quiet & peaceful. A/C worked well. New appliances & recently renovated kitchen - cheerful & functional. Quality WIFI. Housekeepers are awesome - above & beyond my expectations. Definitely recommend this one, definitely would return. p.s. kitchenette users - be sure to check out Wouda's Bakery and A & K Sausage & Meats for a gourmet experience!

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0seiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived in Penticton after being on the road for a few days. I booked strictly through emails while we were on the road and the owner was very accomodating to our needs. When we arrived we were pleasently surprised with the location, right across the road from the beach! The owner went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable as I had accidently emailed that we had two kids and not three, and two are teens, so he upgraded our room for us at a minimal charge.
Our room had a full kitchenette which was perfect, with two bedrooms, a small but adequate living space and parking right outside the door. We were so impressed with the service we stayed on for an extra night even though we had to switch rooms.
We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toni-the-tiger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

then this is the place. NO FRILLS, aging building but very clean and comfortable. You get what you pay for! Perfect for access to the beach and restaurants. Friendly staff and free wifi. The bed was fine as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divinelavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was really happy with the three days I spent here. For the money the room was large and spacious and everything was clean and tidy. The decor was a little tired but the room was presentable and all the appliances worked. I had a fantastic view of the lake from my door/window which made getting up each morning a pleasure.

The motel is literally on the edge of the lake at the western end of Penticton. There are a a few restaurants nearby and it's only ten minutes walk into town.

The owner was polite and courteous, even helping me to try and track down a winery bus at the last minute.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and I would certainly book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lake side suites, the view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toms_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#30 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Resort Motel
Crown Resort Motel
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#13 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sea Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sea Motel & Restaurant

Property: Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
Address: 988 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Sea Motel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only steps away from beautiful Okanagan Lake, our clean and non-smoking rooms along with our many onsite amenities, will provide an oasis for those needing a break from beach! Chill out in our A/C equipped rooms, stay connected with free high speed wireless internet, cook a gourmet meal in our full size kitchens, or fire up the BBQ's and grill your favourite dinner. Our knowledgeable staff will also direct you to attractions, shopping, fun, food, golf, and wineries near your room or suite. There are also lots of skiing, festivals, water sports, hiking and biking trails, horseback riding, art galleries, and day spas to explore nearby, so guests can rest assured that their stay in Penticton will never have a dull moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Sea Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing