We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“quaint and near the water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Motel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quaint and near the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

the place hasn't been updated in a while but that is part of the charm. really swell folks that helped out with a few really menial details for us right as soon as we asked. kids loved the movie night and it's super close to the lake. totally beautiful locale, right on skaha lake.

Room Tip: you could easily double up with family friends in the kitchenette rooms as there are 2 bedrooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Wow! Another great trip to Penticton and the Beachside Motel! This was our third year that our family stayed at the Beachside Motel for our vacation to Penticton and every year it gets better and better! The owners, Trudy and John, do a great job of making the motel feel relaxed and welcoming for families. Our two girls, ages 9 and 6, make new friends with the other kids staying at the motel. They are free to play on the well kept grounds and swim in the indoor pool. We see many familiar faces every year of other families who come to stay at the same time year after year. You can enjoy an ice cream, a short walk to the beach on Skaha Lake or just curl up in a lawn chair and read a book. We all get sad when we have to leave and count the days until we return. Thanks Trudy and John for another great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was our third stop on our whirlwind trip around BC. First Salmon Arm, then Vancouver and now here. Unfortunately we could only squeeze in one evening in Penticton and we chose this location because of its proximity to the beach at Skaha Lake. We had the dog with us and I must say what a friendly place this was. Everyone was sat around on the grass in the middle merrily chatting away. People of all ages and at night the place was hopping with activity. The room was average but that was because we were only here for one evening and that was the only room they had left which allowed a dog. It was clean though and all that we needed and we did have a good sleep and we felt quite relaxed by the time we had to leave so it fitted our needs for our one and only evening in Penticton. Yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you need a kichenette then book well in advance. That is what we will do next time and I think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We are part of a group of friends (we graduated high school together over 30 years ago) that have been coming to this resort for 9 years. We are professionals and have kids who started coming here as young children who are now in high school and university. It was a great place; close to the beach with pleasant outdoor seating, BBQs and movies with popcorn for the kids at night. This year it all changed- the owner Trudy became upset when a hanging flower pot that was hung over a speed bump on the drive was accidentally knocked down by the toy box on top of our SUV as it went over the speed bump. Due to the noise of things rattling in the box and the car as we went over the bump we did not notice the pot being knocked down. Trudy did not say anything to us directly but let our friends know she was very upset. I spoke to her the next day and she clearly was very angry and intimated that we knocked it down on purpose. I tried to apologize. My husband tried to explain but she continued enraged, and said she would be happy if we did not come back again. Later, while my husband was standing in the parking lot, Trudy's husband walked a circle around him blowing his leaf blower at him and then swore at him. Due to his intimidating and erratic behavior we opted to not park our vehicle on their property anymore (it was our last night). We have good memories and enjoyed this place despite the fact that even the refurbished rooms were getting tatty, the beds are very uncomfortable, and the TVs are cathode ray. Now we will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank spadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

just stayed here for the weekend such a lovely place, really clean rooms great lil pool and a movie night for our kids I highly recommend this motel its clean and the owners and everyone on staff are very friendly and helpful, its a block away from skaha beach and theres an ice cream stand attached. HAD AN AWESOME WEEKEND

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joytyler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Booked here with 5 families, friends of my wife's. Rooms are worn and while have apparently clean have an oder. Property is worn and seriously needs updating. Owner "Trudi" is dismissive of complaints to the point of being hostile and told us, "I don't care if you come book next year". With the range of competitive properties available in the area I'd give the Beachside a pass.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Worldpaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Beachside Motel quite a few times in the summer. The kids love it. It's a block to the beach. The management is friendly and every evening they show a movie for the kids, complete with popcorn. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and quiet at night. The parking is tight especially with a larger vehicle. There are barbecues and picnic tables for the use of the guests. There is a very popular ice cream store at the end of the building. All in all, a very good place.

Room Tip: We've stayed in various rooms but have found them all quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#1 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
3.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empire Motel
Empire Motel
#9 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Property: Beachside Motel
Address: 3624 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing