We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“RV park of the complex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ogopogo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ogopogo Motel
Save
You added Ogopogo Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RV park of the complex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As an experienced RV traveler, we were hesitant to stay at this RV park due to its "run down" look. We have always stayed at the Impeccable Park Royal RV beside the Ogopogo RV but it was full, and as we were taking our 4 young grandchildren, the lure of a pool made it happen.
The "new managers "started Sept/12" were very helpful and friendly which I gather was not the case of the previous ones. It is definitely a work in progress as many repairs were needed in the washrooms and around the park (has cable but many outlets were broken off for connection). The sites needed cleanup (many cig butts, bottle caps etc) after the last customers.
Overall, it was acceptable considering the fact if you want to stay on the Okanogan Lake side of Penticton, you only have Park Royal and Ogopogo to chose from. We would stay there again but would ask for a space on the side next to Park Royal as the new shopping centre on the other side can get noisy in the early morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for your comments about the RV park. We have new managers this year and they are working on maintenance and repairs throughout. We will bring the cable connections and litter points that you made to their attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Ogopogo Motel for 3 days. We chose it because it is so reasonably priced, and the location is perfect. We have stayed here before and I must say that the motel is looking better than ever. The room we stayed in had a brand new bed which was amazing, the motel was very clean and the pool area is awesome. The new managers were very pleasant and accommodating and everyone in the motel seemed to be having a really good time. We will be arranging to come back next year :) Thank you Ogopogo!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When I made our reservations at the motel and at the R.V. site located behind motel.(traveling with friends in a R.V.)I did not expect too much. I knew it would be dated and small. We just wanted a clean bed and shower. However it was horrible sure enough it was clean and cheap, but DO NOT expect to get any sleep. There were party pods outside every ones door. At least 4 groups here and there. The worst part was that outside the Manager office was the the noisiest. With a huge party going on at outside of their office and their daughter and her group of friends partying at the other end. Yelling, screaming, banging on doors and slamming doors well past 1:30am. Paper thin walls, no aircondioning. My friends said the rv site noise was just as bad. Saving on the $(90) per night just isn`t worth it. Spend a few extra dollars and get a better place there are 2 others motels right next door that might have better control on the party pigs.

Room Tip: not worth it!!!! save your self some grief stay some where else. ml
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlc597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

vernon bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had made a reservation, expecting to check in around 6:30 PM. My work ran a little late and I didn't check in until 8:30. Keep in mind no one said anything about a check in deadline. As soon asI rang the doorbell on the office the manager/owner, not sure which, started yelling and swearing at me about how I was late and did I not realize they had a life?? I started to apologize, realized he was not joking and told him maybe they should tell people if they have a deadline. He continued to carry on so I said I didn't need this and walked out. I had stayed several times before with no problem. He also falsely accused me of stealing the keys before. I say avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The tubing canal is right across the street, and that's where the buses return you to at the end of your float. The motel was clean, hard beds however, and it has an outdoor pool (I didn't swim in it, but my friends all did). We got "told" for talking outside our rooms at night, so they asked us to hang out at the pool to chat at night, they left it unlocked for us - which was cool. Reasonably priced ($110ish) after tax per night CAD. Shower was so hard and fast in our room that I felt like my skin was being torn off, but overall, a good experience and I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy5440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments and just wanted to note that the shower heads have all been fixed (calcium buildup - sorry about your skin!) and the beds are in the process of being replaced. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed in the RV park. A well located shaded area.....good access to shopping, river and lake etc etc. Washrooms have now been updated :) Just a lack of lawns in the RV park. Good deal for the money :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments and just a note that our RV park rates will drop by 50% for the winter so come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ogopogo for a weekend in July. While it doesn't compare to some of the bigger and fancier resorts we found it to be comfortable, clean and very reasonably priced. The location right across from where you can go tubing was ideal and we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and just a note that our Fall/Winter prices are on now making a trip during the wine season even more affordable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.9 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#30 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Swiss Sunset Inn
Swiss Sunset Inn
#29 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#16 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown Resort Motel
Crown Resort Motel
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.9 mi away
5000 Motel
5000 Motel
#24 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogopogo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogopogo Motel

Property: Ogopogo Motel
Address: 270 Riverside Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ogopogo Motel and RV Park is a 3 acre property with 16 ground floor motel rooms, most having kitchenettes, and a 30 site, fully serviced recreational vehicle park situated amongst shady trees. We are located next to the river channel, where all of the river rafting starts from. We are adjacent to a mall with multiple shops and just a short walk to the beach and the Penticton Golf Club. Our sunny outdoor pool is open May to October. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing