We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better than last visit”
Review of Ogopogo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ogopogo Motel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
new westminster
1 review
“Much Better than last visit”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location,priced right,just what I needed for a 2 day stay on my way
to the Kootenays.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank brent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My family stayed at the motel which is located right across from the river rafting spot and we couldn't of been happier about the price and location.
A new mall next door has everything you need to make your own meals in the kitchenettes.
The place was clean but not fancy but the price was a deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayacoupons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your response and just wanted to note that almost all of our rooms have at least some cooking facilities and that the new mall adjacent has even more stores opening up for your shopping convenience and variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Seriously i disagree totally with the others opinion, I dont know what the hell happened. but this place is clean, spacious, the owners are very nice, its in a beautiful location,near the canal and a little park to walk dogs, and not that pricey. We stayed for a long stay. and we had come also about a year ago and it was the same. We always liked the place. I never saw filthy bedding. I slept on the bed-sofa and there was no sheet so i could see the matress and it was clean,no bed buds or anything. i putted a sleeping bag on it and a sleeping bag on me and i slept really well,except for two cars that left at 6 or 7 am. all was clean,we could even still smell the cleaning products in the sink and bathrub. i didnt see any peeling wallpaper,since the walls are not even made in the living room,kitchen, to have wallpaper on. and the bedroom wall paper seemed pretty nice to me. I really dont understand what others are complaining about , my stay over there was very enjoyable. I,who myself,once work in a motel knows that this job is very demanding but we always try our best to make it better for the people that stay there. thank god they put office hours and thank god they dont do cleaning rooms each day when its a long stay because it would be really a lot of work. what they do,when its a long stay, is give u a specific day to come and ask for the cleaning and changing sheets and all that. and we just do our cleaning ourself,its much more better i find.
Anyway id like to finish by just saying its a great place to stay, i liked it and dont see why anyone wouldnt like it. And really for the price, a lot(if not all) is included, swimming pool,kitchenette, cable,internet, a bedroom included in the room, even a kitchen table, and closet in the bedroom, barbecue. I mean ,really, what more to ask for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your detailed defense of our property! We too were rather surprised by some of the previous reviews. As new owners who did have to deal with some problematic long term tenants, we have taken steps to upgrade what little needed upgrading and have actually hired new managers as of September 2012. We would love to have you back anytime and hopefully other people will be able to see the value and experience that we offer travellers such as yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place will give me the willies for as long as I live.Where do I start? Filthy bedding (bloody covers and sheets), filthy cruddy walls, black-brown bathtub, peeling wallpaper, etc. etc. Now someone on here said there are bedbugs too! The kitchenette is the only plus, if it were cleaner. You should not raise your price to 115 bux on a busier weekend if you can't match the quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 979snort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and could not believe the disgusting bathrooms that never got cleaned even after numerous complaints. The men's bathroom had feces on the ground and the showers had sewer water coming up while showering. We will never return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank a4l84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver b.c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

what we thought was a cozy getaway developed into nasty week of itching from a bed bug infested motel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank finzl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.9 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#25 of 44 in Penticton
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort Motel
Golden Sands Resort Motel
#23 of 44 in Penticton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pass Motor Inn
Pass Motor Inn
#38 of 44 in Penticton
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Plaza Motel
#34 of 44 in Penticton
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#12 of 44 in Penticton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogopogo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogopogo Motel

Property: Ogopogo Motel
Address: 270 Riverside Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ogopogo Motel and RV Park is a 3 acre property with 16 ground floor motel rooms, most having kitchenettes, and a 30 site, fully serviced recreational vehicle park situated amongst shady trees. We are located next to the river channel, where all of the river rafting starts from. We are adjacent to a mall with multiple shops and just a short walk to the beach and the Penticton Golf Club. Our sunny outdoor pool is open May to October. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing