We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family oasis !”
Review of Bowmont Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowmont Motel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great family oasis !”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband, my 2 kids (11 and 9) and myself stayed at the Bowmont motel for 4 days at the end of June. We had a great time. All the rooms around the yard and the pool were occupied by families and we had a great time mingling with everyone. Our kids kept on wanting to go back to the motel to play with the other kids. The hosts Christine, Dan and Mat were very helplful and pleasant. The rooms are quite basic but they are not the reason to stay there. Everything was very clean.

Room Tip: Get a room around the pool if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerrMasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    45
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
35
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We are returning guests to the Bowmont and every time we have stayed we have more then enjoyed our stay!!! It's a great place to stay for the weekend or for a week. The rooms are spacious and the suite we stayed in had a full kitchen. They have a really nice courtyard with a covered cooking area with nice big BBQ's. You can BBQ and then enjoy your dinner in the courtyard by the pool.
They have a beautiful heated outdoor pool and a really nice Hot tub and Sauna area.
The motel is walking distance to the beach and there is a great little amusement park/ mini golf across the street.
The owners are so welcoming and accommodating! They really make you feel like your at home!!
We would highly recommend this great Motel in the Peach City!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunlovers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We have been traveling to Penticton for years now and love staying at the Bowmont. You can not get any better for location in Penticton. If you have kids, they will love being so close to the river ride, Loco Landing and the beach. At night you can stroll down the strip, go out for dinner, go for ice cream or rent a bike for the family, even sneak to the Casino for an hour or two. The court yard is great here, with the grassy area and the pool you can just relax. The lower suites have picnic tables outside the rooms so you can enjoy eating outside and enjoy the evening by playing games with friends. You just feel like family there, you meet people from all over the place and usually see them again the next summer as everyone always returns back to the Bowmont.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darialhirondelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I took my daughter and 4 of her friends to Penticton for her 16th birthday. I told the owners what I was looking for and they gave me a HUGE room with 3 bedrooms that interconnected, 2 bathrooms and a living room and a small basic kitchen. This set up allowed me to sleep, despite the "chatting" all night!

The rooms are dated and it is a family style motel room, you need to bring your own hairdryer and shampoo, that being said, I will tell you why we enjoyed ourselves very much.: If you have teenagers you know how hard it is to keep them amused, the location for this motel is fantasic for that,: across the street is a beautiful mini golf with bumper boats, it is a one minute walk from Penticton's sandy beaches and it is about a 1 minute walk to the river ride.

The girls had a fantastic time, they used the pool and the hot tub, they rented a bicycle car (rental place 1 min away) went to the beach, mini golfing ect. and I could keep an eye on them but I was also able to give them their autonomy. I cooked pizza for them in the room but I did notice there there was a bbq and several guests were using it.

So in short, the room was large and reasonable so I was able to afford to allow the girls to do all the activities that I mentioned. My daughter told me that the girls she invited said that was they best birthday ever.....and you know how hard it is to please a teenager. This place is not fancy but it is clean, has loads of parking and what you are really getting her is the location.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyamamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The location is fantastic! Across the street from an adventure/mini golf park and rose garden. Just down the street is the access to float down the channel. A block & 1/2 is access to the beach. The rooms are a bit dated, but they are comfortable. They have everything you need in them and if they are missing anything the staff will bring it right away to you. The courtyard is fantastic! Great for smaller children as it has a large grassed area with couple of play structures to play on. Lots of room to lay out on the grass or go into the gated pool area and soak up the sun poolside. The pool/hot tub are always clean. There are bbq's available to guests to use. We haven't had a bad experience yet and we love the front desk staff!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shejas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Great location, friendly staff, if you need something (dishes, teatowels)just ask, fun and family oriented, beautiful courtyard, a good value compared to other motels in area, mostly new air conditioners, clean towels and bedding, dated furn. we bring flowers and family pictures for at home feeling, safe, comfortable, kids got noisy last year at times but we are welcome every year and the owners remember you, great place for meeting family!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed in August 2008 for 3 nights. Location, frontdesk staff, pool / hottub area all good. However the accommodation is another story. Rooms are very very dated. Beds need to replaced as well as most of the furniture. Mis-matched kitchen supplies. Some items missing or only one of. Ended up eating out the whole time. Bathrooms have dirt built up so thick its beyond cleaning, should be gutted. Only bar of soap in bathroom, no other amenities supplied. Air condition old and dated, we had to shut off because it was so noisy. Sheets, blankets, spreads stained or ripped. Believe me you didn't feel guilty dragging in all the sand from the beach.
The comment on the other review about the rooms looking "too lived in" and being in someones house you don't know very well hits the nail on the head.
Would not stay here again unless they renovate.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hendo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.4 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 44 in Penticton
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#7 of 44 in Penticton
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowmont Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowmont Motel

Property: Bowmont Motel
Address: 80 Riverside Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bowmont Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely Fantastic, meet new friends and experience why families are returning to their favorite Penticton Motel. Our rooms offer all the comforts and amenities of home. Our pool, courtyard and proximity to Okanagan Lake is simply the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bowmont Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing