We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I'll be back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5000 Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
5000 Motel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I have read the reviews here and do not know why people don't like this place. Is it dated? Yup. Is it old? Ya. Are the towels a bit worn. Uh huh. Is the wifi spotty? It was, but i am on vacation! I really do not NEED wifi. And when I asked about it they immediately put a call into their ISO to fix the issue. Immediately! Is the pool surrounded by asphalt? Yes. Are the TVs old? Yessir. But apparently they are updated now. I guess I will find out because I am going back..

The bottom line:

The price is good, the staff is friendly, it is close to everything you need so you can walk to the store, restaurant, etc. the pool is kid friendly and quite large, and there are kitchenettes. It isn't the Hilton or Fairmont, but it is a great little place to stay in a very expensive town in the summer. And who goes to a beautiful area to sit around a motel? So many things to do in Penticton, this is a great little base camp.


And no one asked me to wash the sheets... Don't know what that guy was talking about.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't see many mom and pop motels around anymore but wish there were more! We had and amazing stay here Jas & Jack were awesome, our rooms where always clean the beds super comfortable and the whole atmosphere was just excellent. I will definitely stay here again when visiting the Okanogan.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Old and badly in need of upgrading and repairs. The bathroom towels were literally threadbare (with threads hanging down at the edges). The bed was not comfortable. The wifi wasn't working and it was hard to get TV (without getting frustrated trying to figure out which channels were actually available. Most other motels have a listing of available TV channels). Live and learn. I wouldn't recommend and I wouldn't stay there again. There are better choices for the same price in Penticton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeulahCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were coming into Penticton for the Gran Fondo and when we were trying to book a room everything seemed to be either over priced or sold out.

A friend told us about 5000 Motel and they were awesome in getting us 3 rooms at a very reasonable price. When we arrived Jas at the front desk was amazing and super accommodating.

Our room was 39 and it was quite large, had a kitchenette, and was very clean. You do have to realize that the rooms have not been updated in a very long time but are very clean and comfortable. The pool is great, there are a lot of restaurants and grocery stores close by and about half way between Okanagan and Skaha lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powelj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Okay for a place to sleep. Clean but very dated. Requires serious updating on everything form units to furniture. Owners are very gracious. I would recommend looking at the rooms before making a commitment to renting one.

Room Tip: Only if you are looking for a place to sleep that is clean and inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werzel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Loved the extra storage shelves in the bathroom. Futon was squeaky. AC worked. TV is a flatscreen. Fridge was a good size and fairly new. Kitchen was good...spatulas etc felt like they would be so easy to break...overall a good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent viewing of bike race and running race throughout the day! The hotel is also very close to the beach,earls,Starbucks, and numerous grocery stores! Wonderful owners/service!!!!!!!! Overall we had a really great stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
1.5 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#2 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
1.5 mi away
Empire Motel
Empire Motel
#9 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5000 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5000 Motel

Property: 5000 Motel
Address: 1742 Main Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5G8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5000 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your 5000 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing