We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the lake front”
Review of Tiki Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiki Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the lake front”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was a simple clean, motel with good friendly staff in a great location right on the lakeside beach, near all the restaurants & bars & our room had a whirlpool bath. The price was reasonable as well
I'd certainly stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLJRangersFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
50
38
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was one of those rare experiences where you get exactly what you were told you would get. Had to be THE cleanest motel I have ever stayed in...seriously, you could have eaten off the floor. The decor is very modern and minimal. Wood and tile floors mean never having to worry about tracking sand from the beach inside. It is obvious that whoever renovated this place took some pride in what they were doing. Staff were so helpful. I had brought my 5 year old to Penticton to take in the Children's Festival, and lost my cell phone there - staff could not have been more willing to help me. Luckily I did find it at the festival grounds the next day. Loved the well-supplied compact kitchen area , was actually much more than I expected! There were no chairs in the suite, only counter height stools, but this was exactly what was shown online at their website. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: rely on their website for room descriptions, it is very acccurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 656Victoria656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived May 18 and stayed in a one bedroom suite. Upon arrival we noticed our florenscent lights in the kitchen were not covered. The plastic cover was on the floor. We also noticed our mini fridge door would not close properly leaving a big gap which eventually resulted in falling off completely lol ! Seeing that we are pretty low maintenance and handy we didn't complain and tried to fix it our self.... However were not successfull. We called front desk since we didn't want the food we brought up to go bad. We asked for a replacement fridge. They did not have any. The lovely lady at the front desk did her best to rectify the situation given the power she had. We decided to make due with the crapy situation since the other option weren't much better. Our room was discounted by approx. $15.00 each night. So we still ended paying over $200 for a room that was falling apart. (oh ya the microwave stopped working too ). Not good value in my opinion. There are soooo many other options to chose from with the same great location and amenities. I will not be staying there again simply because I felt the value was terrible given my circumstance. The front desk girl however was super helpful and tried her best to accommodate us. I don't think we should have paid what we paid !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have stayed in almost all of the hotel/motels in this part of the strip along the lakefront and they are pretty much the same.

If you are in Penticton for a vacation and not planning on spending much time at the hotel, it does not matter which of the several properties located along the lakeshore you choose.

They can be quite or noisy depending on when you stay.
There is not much difference in the quality of the rooms.
Wireless can be good or bad.
Parking can be good or bad.
The prices are usually within a few dollars of each other.

I have noticed that the service in this area of town is rather lackadaisical, probably because they know the tourists will keep coming to this beautiful city.

This is a low to moderate property in an area of low to moderate properties in a beautful setting.

Room Tip: Stay at whichever place offer the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtish Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

For an off-season stay, this was perfect. While it's not fancy, neither is the price. We were there long enough to shower and sleep, but loved the kitchenette for making meals when it was too cold to go out. Wonderful front-desk person, Tracey, made us feel at home and was very flexible when we needed to extend our stay. Great value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My sister and I regularly make visits to the Okanagan to visit family. We were delighted to discover this gem of a place right along the beachfront.

The rooms have been updated and include a kitchenette as well as a nice private patio with a BBQ and patio furniture.

Its a great location steps from the beach. We make our lunches in the room and then walk over to the beach to put our heels in the sand while we picnic.

I am a frequent business traveller and have stayed in many hundreds of hotels and the beds at Tiki Shores compare to those at much more expensive hotels. The duvets are fluffy and cozy, and everything is clean, fresh and new.

I intend to return to this place again and again.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a patio. The ones in the front have a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Excellent location directly across from the beach, Good quality fixtures in excellent repair in the suite itself, clean and comfortable, we had a kitchenette with all the necessary amenities, Friendly staff and an excellent price. I would highly recommend this motel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Inn
Casa Grande Inn
#5 of 18 in Penticton
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#15 of 44 in Penticton
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Shores

Property: Tiki Shores
Address: 914 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tiki Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Okanagan Beach, Penticton, on the very southern-most shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, guests at Tiki Shores enjoy their choice of an array of suites that will suit about any need or budget, from Studio units to 2 or 3 bedroom suites or our deluxe Roman (Honeymoon) Suites, all featuring either kitchens or kitchenettes. You may also choose in-suite Jaccuzzi baths. The resort also offers a pool, a grassed green space (perfect for picnics) and an on-site restaurant for your convenience. We are located across from the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Tiki Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Shores Hotel Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing