We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing,”
Review of Black Iron Grill

Black Iron Grill
Ranked #35 of 192 Restaurants in Penticton
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penticton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“disappointing,”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We were looking forward to a good beef meal ,steaks primerib and we all felt the meat tasted like it was reheated and not cooked fresh the seasoning lacked,for a steak house it must be cooked fresh each and everytime,not left over from the night before,,we haven`t been there since the summer.We can get a better steak at the pub,

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    64
    16
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't cook meat!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We ordered prime rib and were told it could be cooked to order, its slow roasted to blue rare and finished to your liking.
My wife ordered hers medium and it came well done and I love my meat very rare and mine came medium.
If it was already blue rare then why did they cook mine more?
Why didn't they offer to do it right?

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1foodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not a huge menu, but they do steak right”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This place has recently changed ownership, so they're still ironing out the kinks. The service isn't bad, but the menu is quite small. Best steak I've had in Penticton was at this place

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good dining choice”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed in Days Inn for the night, so our natural choice for dinner is Black Iron Grill, which is attached to the hotel. We also received a coupon for 50% off the second entree upon checking in (a bonus for sure).

The decor was quite romantic, but it's not formal that you will need to dress up. We ordered the crabcakes, seafood salad, and their daily special (8oz steak with tiger prawns). Overall the food was delicious -- crabcakes were nicely panfried & seasoned; the salad was fresh but had too much dressing (the waitress was kind enough to add more veggies after we talked to her), and the steak was juicy, tender and flavourful.

We would like to try their dessert too but we were completely full. Maybe next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crossover604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Better steak than we often get.”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Well aged, very tasty steak. It seems a shame, though, at the height of the season, to serve the same pale pink "crunchy" imported tomatoes that we see in January.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitsilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Iron Grill also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Black Iron Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing