We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hooded Merganser

Hooded Merganser
Reserve with OpenTable
Hooded Merganser is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 192 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Named after the rare and reclusive North American duck that shares its name (and flew onto the restaurant patio during name selection) the Hooded Merganser is a culinary and architectural masterpiece that straddles Okanagan Lake to offer panoramic views of the lake and mountains.Inside, the décor is luxurious, the atmosphere is casual and the menu diverse yet surprisingly reasonable: contemporary local cuisine and phenomenal views of the Okanagan Valley.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stopped in twice on this trip - a breakfast, and a lunch. Decent food and drink, just not overwhelming. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    253
    85
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Server in Kelowna raved about this place but we weren't overwhelmed. The setting and view were fabulous, sitting outside overlooking Okananagan Lake. However we felt the food was just average and not what we expected. Spinach salad was lovely and well presented but poppyseed dressing seemed to just be seeds and oil, lacked flavour. Same for mains - halibut and lamb offerings seemed bland. Lamb stuffing was mostly nuts, little cheese. Guess we just expected more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatmanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and response. We are glad that you enjoyed our unique location and unprecedented views of Lake Okanagan and were able to take advantage of our outdoor lakeside patio seating. However we are sorry to hear that components of your meal fell short in your experience. We take care to hold ourselves to the same exacting standards as each one of our guests, and rely on communication, feedback and support in the honing of our service and craft. We are confident that should you choose to dine with us again, the noted shortcomings in your previous dining experience would prove exonerated. We hope to have the privilege and pleasure to host you again in the future and trustfully, to restore your good opinion and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I visit the Hooded Merganser each time I visit Penticton - every year or two - and they consistently create delicious food and serve it with care. On my latest visit, I ordered the Wild BC Salmon and it was served just as requested. I also asked my server detailed questions about local BC wine, and she was very knowledgeable and took the time to help me select one that I would enjoy. The view is the bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I took an elderly relative for dinner and was extremely unhappy that they could only seat us at a very tall pub-style table, even though we arrived early and the majority of the indoor tables in the restaurant were empty (although the patio was full). The service was good, but steak and scallop special was disappointing. The scallops had such a char-broiled flavour they were inedible. By the time we left, the indoor seating was still only 3/4 full and my guest could hardly walk out of the restaurant from having his legs dangling off the too-high seat. I feel they made absolutely no attempt to accommodate my guest's needs and if it hadn't been so far to walk through the hotel and along the boardwalk to get to the restaurant, I would have turned around and went somewhere else. I will not go back

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Diner,

Thank you for your response and for sharing your experience with us. It is regretful to hear that your seating arrangement was not agreeable and that the meal was not to your liking. We encourage all our guests to disclose any potential problems or concerns with our waiting and management staff, so to ensure the maximum in dining experience. While the summer season creates a surplus of industry, our staff work tirelessly to accommodate all our guests, be it walk-ins and reservations, keeping in mind the delicate balance of receiving and hosting. We appreciate your considerations and hope that you may reconsider our establishment in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very nice dinner with wife and daughter.
Prompt attentive service, excellent seared tuna, and beautiful sunset on patio over the water.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooded Merganser also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Hooded Merganser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing