We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view great staff but...”
Review of Hooded Merganser

Hooded Merganser
Reserve with OpenTable
Hooded Merganser is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 198 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Named after the rare and reclusive North American duck that shares its name (and flew onto the restaurant patio during name selection) the Hooded Merganser is a culinary and architectural masterpiece that straddles Okanagan Lake to offer panoramic views of the lake and mountains.Inside, the décor is luxurious, the atmosphere is casual and the menu diverse yet surprisingly reasonable: contemporary local cuisine and phenomenal views of the Okanagan Valley.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Last night was trip number 10 plus to the "Hood" for us. We head there when we have an event at the Lake side and the Hood is very convenient. So: fantastic location and structure plus great staff that try very hard. The problem is that what could be a signature BC restaurant is let down by the totally uninspired cooking. We had the won ton soup and the tuna tacos. The wonton soup was flavourless and gummy with no real zing, in fact we commented that it seemed to be inspired by the desire to make bland food for folks that do not like flavour. The tuna tacos were simply drab as if all the spices had been forgotten. Some of the small Thai and Chinese places do a much better job on Wonton and Earls makes a tuna taco in their sleep better than this high end restaurant. To be fair these were two appies we shared and not a main course. That said if the Hood will not put effort into the appy plates they have now those items should be dropped for ones they will put effort in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank summaquies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Diner,

Thank you for your patronage. We always appreciate returning customers and deeply value your feedback. It is regrettable that during your prior dining experience with us, the food was not to your complete satisfaction. As you may know, unlike the larger restaurant chains, the greater part of our produce is picked fresh daily from our very own herb garden and organic Valley View Farm. These ingredients alone help dictate the varied flavor profiles of our seasonal menus. The love we share for growing nutritive, organic whole foods is equal to love we have for cooking good, flavorful food. We hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your good opinion in choosing to dine with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 790 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is our favourite place to eat in Penticton,we went here tonight ,,they were incredibly busy but we had not booked but they found us a table ,as ever the service and food were great,I do not know how they keep up the service,but well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Patron,

Thank you for consistently choosing to dine at our restaurant. We deeply value your support and considerations and are so pleased that we have always been able to accommodate and prioritize your needs. Look forward to receiving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a location, over the water. We watched two ospreys dive for fish, over and over again.

The warm sun disappeared by noon, and suddenly it was cold. The very nice waitress immediately offered to start the overhead heating, wonderful!

We started with a mediocre inside-outside sushi roll, not much flavour. But the warm ginoa salad with shrimp was superb and plentiful.. The hamburger with fries was pretty good. It was a good lunch. With four non-alcoholic drinks the bill came to $60. This place deserves a higher ranking.

We'll be back. Luckily they take reservations which we expect you will need for the summer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank FlyingDutchman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your detailed feedback. It is wonderful being able to connect with our customers in such a direct way. We are delighted that you were able to witness some of the extraordinary scenes of Mother Nature that take place daily all around us. We are truly privileged. Look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant great view service and food quaility seem to drop when busy. Especially during very busy summer months.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is always good, love the service, no matter what time of year. Whenever visitors come we always suggest going to The Hood. The views summer and winter are spectacular . A burger or a fillet, always tastey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PentictonGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Patron,

Thank you for being such a vibrant and vocal supporter of our restaurant. It is local patrons such as yourself that create the genuine pulse of our establishment, in turn giving rise to its distinguishable appeal, attraction and vibe that reverberates throughout our local community. We appreciate you immensely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooded Merganser also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Hooded Merganser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing