We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come on in and be a Waffle Wiffer”
Review of Waffle House

Waffle House
Ranked #56 of 262 Restaurants in New Westminster
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Come on in and be a Waffle Wiffer”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Waffle Wiffer - an affectionate name give to patrons of the Waffle House who indulge in what I think are probably the best restaurant waffles in the province. I started going to this restaurant 42 years ago when it was a very small shoe box of a place. I have watched it grow into a newer location and become a landmark in New Westminster. The food although simple fair is excellent and consistent. The staff has gone through several changes but they are always courteous and friendly. Great food, Great prices. If you haven't tried it you should. Ummmmm.
Take your Mom and Dad they`ll love it too!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mytravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast out for Mom and me”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Breakfast is usually the best thing at this restaurant. Dinner has the usual choices for sides but they are usually underwhelming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarT9005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than the chain restaurants”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Waffle House is somewhat of an icon in the Uptown area of New Westminster having been around for over 40 years - albeit under various owners. The décor is unspectacular but functional - think upscale cafeteria. I will say that the food is consistent - better than IHOP for breakfast.
We come here 4 or 5 times a year and this is where your experience could be made or broken: SERVICE. There are four longtime waitresses that have been here every time we have come and they provide a vastly different experience. Avoid the large, mid fifties-ish woman with glasses as she will serve you with ZERO warmth and total indifference - you are a nuisance to her.The blond woman around 40 with an accent is the nicest and most interested in your dining happiness.
To summarize, decent food, good value and hit and miss service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanCityTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,828 reviews
864 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“"AVERAGE" at BEST!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Long time New West. resident and we thought we would try this establishment for breakfast. We each had an omelet mine with pan fried potato. The pan fried potatos were burnt & the omelet wasnot light & fluffy, again it was over cooked. the service was inconsistent, as our sever was spending time on her cell phone & BS with the owner, instead of getting us an other cup of coffee(which was not very strong). We were their prior to any luch time rush (place was empty). The WC's are showing its age & poor lighting. WE WILL NOT BE BACK!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I had the chicken schnitzel and it was juicy and tender with vegetables cooked the perfect amount. This is a great place to have lunch with your grandma.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waffle House also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 

Been to Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing