We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't get any better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai New West

Thai New West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Thai New West Restaurant celebrates pure Thai in a contemporary setting in New Westminster. Hot, Sour, Salty, Sweet and Bitter...Experience an explosion of fresh and exotic Thai flavors! Mussaman, Pad Thai, Penang...Every delicacy is pure and prepared using fresh and quality ingredients. Pampering and unpretentious, Thai New West Restaurant celebrates a simple menu that promises to delight your senses! Opening hours Tuesday - Sunday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm Dinner: 5pm - 9:00pm (kitchen closes 30 minutes prior to restaurant closing time).
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here for a friend's birthday and we loved it. The service was superb, the food delicious, a great atmosphere and very clean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
19 Thank KS080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unforgettable meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I went to this restaurant with some other family members. We were a little concerned when we arrived and noticed that no one was in the restaurant. Thank goodness we decided to go inside anyways.

The food was some of most tasteful food I have ever had. Every bight of food had an explosion of flavour. The service was impeccable.

I would recommend this little hidden gem to anyone. It's a must go if your ever in New Westminster. I hope this restaurant is around forever!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank Chocolatejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must try in Sapperton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were amped up to try this little place: the windows were papered over for quite a while before the restaurant opened. The name on the plate glass was a real teaser.

We have heard other diners - obviously repeat customers as well - telling how after their initial visits they were compelled to bring family, out-of-town visitors, etc. to try out the meals at Thai New West. The food is fresh, sometimes even pretty; the menu is - I think - authentic. Some dinners include noodles or rice; others you'll need to supplement. There is probably something here for just about anybody. And there's a good chance that you'll leave with leftovers. We've seen a lot of take out going as well.

The owner makes a point of coming to each table, on every visit. He is a charming man, and will quietly assist or suggest menu items; or offer comparisons between any of the many items on offer. Most of the Thai plates were new to us, and his information has always been helpful.

Our most recent visit was on 'power-smart' night, so dining by candlelight. Needed a cellphone as backup to read the menu, which is white on black - that's our only issue, and that was a one-off. On the upside, we received a complimentary fried banana with ice cream. Try to save some room for dessert!

My husband had a chat with the owner, pre-opening, so could scope out the interior. It's a lovely little restaurant, dark wood and light walls; clean-looking design. Our first visit was early on in its tenure, and the wait staff was a bit cool; but I think this was due mostly to the newness. The same staff seem much more comfortable now.

Would highly recommend New West Thai to anyone wanting a quality dining experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
21 Thank sviqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teg B, Owner at Thai New West, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Sviqueen,
Thank you for your lovely comments and we’ve enjoyed welcoming you back many times since our early days. Your encouragement, trust and patronage are invaluable and inspire us to be the best. We look forward to hosting you many more times.
With our warm regards from Thai New West,
Teg Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My mother and I ordered for take out a month ago, and the food was fantastic. We decided to go back there for dinner tonight with my father, and we were extremely pleased with every possible aspect of our dining experience.
The atmosphere is very lovely and simple, with great music playing. The servers and the owner were very friendly and accommodating. Most importantly, the food was beautiful. The presentation was beautiful, the portion sizes were perfect, and the flavors were absolutely fantastic. Not considering drinks, for 20$ each the three of us ate quite well, so the prices were really quite fair.

Suffice to say, I am really pleased with this restaurant. I will most definitely be going again, and again, and again. I can say quite easily that Thai New West is my favorite restaurant in New Westminster.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
31 Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teg B, Owner at Thai New West, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Taylor W,
Thank you, we are so happy that you enjoyed our cuisine, atmosphere and service and look forward to welcoming you back to Thai New West soon.
Delicious regards,
Teg Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious traditional Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

On September 30th, 2011, the most beautiful woman in the world agreed to become my wife, on September 26th of this year, she married me.
Our favourite Thai restaurant was gracious enough to host our small wedding dinner, and we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. Teg, Vara, and all of the staff at Thai New West made our dinner and our evening a unique and fantastic experience. The food, the welcome atmosphere, the attention to detail that we have come to love so much capped the happiest day of our lives perfectly.
Once again, Thank you Teg, Vara, and everyone at Thai New West, you made us feel like family.

Teg and his staff will happily tailor your food to your tastes, and the special treat is that the "thai heat" is done very well indeed. No flavour is lost in the spiciness. The food is accentuated by the spice, and vice-versa....we are always made to feel very welcome when we come in, presentation is flawless, and you always get ALOT of food in each dish. We have tried quite a few Thai restaurants in the L.M., and this is by far the best! We have New West Thai twice a month now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
34 Thank NT-Badcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teg B, Owner at Thai New West, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and we are greatly honored that you chose to host this special celebration with us. We are very happy that you enjoy our cuisine and service; vice versa everyone here at Thai New West also looks forward to your visits! Thank you for your valuable feedback and praise, its always nice to know that our core values of high quality, freshness and pure Thai also resonate with our guests.
Once again thank you and we look forward to continuing to delight you on your future visits.
Delicious regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai New West also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to Thai New West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing