We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shang Noodle House in New Westminster” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shang Noodle House

Shang Noodle House
Ranked #47 of 259 Restaurants in New Westminster
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the Starlight Casino.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shang Noodle House in New Westminster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you like noodle in soup, this is a good place to try.
Located at the Starlite Casino beside Shanks pub.
They have weekly specials where you can order a bowl of noodles that comes with a small appy and a drink. I like the spicy beef tendon and brisket in noodles. This has beef brisket and you can choose whatever noodles you want. Another really tasty noodle bowl is the Malaysian style Laksa ramen noodles which is very flavorful. The service is good in that they allow you to switch up an item in the special if you want something else.
They also have a belt where small dishes with dim sum items or other snacks go by and you can just take any item you like.
They also serve Hong Kong style drinks and bubble tea.
Overall, we enjoy coming to this establishment every so often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank racerboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Their wild mushroom soup is amazing. The food is great, portions are big and its really inexpensive. Great for lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good place given its price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The restaurant has an inviting setting. The staffs are nice. The price is highly affordable, or surprisingly inexpensive comparing to its next door neighbor.

We tried the highlighted mushroom noodle and a Thai style spicy seafood Udon. The food quality is good given its price. The food in fact tasted good in the first bite. The soup seemed a little bit salty at the end. This may highly depend on personal feeling. If I can be picky, the squid tasted a little smelly -- it could be treated more thoroughly.

Overall, we were happy with the experience. We may come back if we happen come to the area. There are not many choices there. So, I would recommend it if one is not too picky and just wants something simple.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Mountain_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
1,185 reviews
1,049 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“a good and varied selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My experience is that the fare is very consistent and appetizing. Service is par for this type of restaurant. Ample parking

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renegade225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wild Mushroom w/ ramen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The restaurant has a casual atmosphere and it uses the same kitchen as their sister restaurant, The Kirin.

Try the wild mushroom w/ ramen. It's what I order every time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ForeverRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Noodle House also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to Shang Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing