We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the Royal City!”
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Met Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay at the last minute for one night.

Found The Met online, and couldn't believe the price offered! Located on Columbia st, it's easily accessed from the new Port Mann bridge.

All Front desk personnel were informative and extremely pleasant, both in person and on the phone. The room was enormous, and the beds were clean and very comfortable. Hair dryer and coffee maker were available, as well as a nice flat screen TV.

We were offered a 15% coupon for meals at the adjoining restaurant, where we had breakfast the next morning. The food was very tasty!

Bathroom was a tad small, but did the job, very happy with water pressure and length of hot water available.

My one main complaint was that either the walls are on the thin side, or our neighbors were extremely loud talkers-was up a couple of times when they got going-but I wasn't able to determine if it was them or the walls.

Overall, extremely pleased with the stay and would definitely stay here again, and recommend it for all!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarinetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

At check-in, the receptionist wanted to keep a photocopy of my driver's licence. He gave silly reasons, such as "if you come late, the night porter needs to verify your identity" and "they also do it in Nicaragua", and tried to coerce me into agreeing. He desisted when I asked him to call the police. We stayed only because it was late and we were too tired to look elsewhere.

The hotel is good value, the parking is a nuisance. The Skytrain next door is very noisy, so if you are a light sleeper, you won't get much rest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zuzana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Zuzana K,

Thank you very much for choosing The Met New Westminster during your visit in the area. However, we are disappointed to hear about your concerns during the check-in process. We can assure that we apply the same policy to all of our guests and this is simply for their own security as well as security and safety of other guests and the hotel. We have had this hotel policy in effect since our beginning and never had this negative feedback and we apologize for making you uncomfortable with this policy and we should have explained it to you better at check in. Rest assure that, we have addressed your concern with the front desk so that in the future this is better explained.

In terms of parking, it is literally across the street and we think it is a great value for $10.00 flat rate for 24 hours. Being heritage building, we do not have parking on the premises, therefore, we made an agreement with the parkade across the street which is the best possible option for our guests.

In terms of skytrain, once again, this is beyond our control and furthermore, skytrain stops running at midnight. And majority of our guests find this very convenient in terms of getting around the city and going directly to downtown Vancouver in 25 minutes.

Once again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy our fine hospitality and friendly service and we wish you all the best in your future travels.

With all of us here at The Met, We wish you a very Merry Christmas!

Team Met!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were in town for the weekend from the U.S. We knew about New West. and its convenient location, having formerly had relatives who lived in the neighborhood. We were happy to find this reasonably priced hotel next to a Skytrain station for easy access to Vancouver. Three things would have pushed this rating to excellent for us:
1. Better water pressure. I realize it's an older building, but it was difficult showering and getting all the shampoo out of hair due to feeble pressure.
2. Better room temperature controls. We turned the heat all the way down (in late Nov.) but were still warm.
3. Fewer drunks stumbling out of the bar downstairs at 2 a.m. They woke us up.
But the friendly, helpful hotel staff and other factors mentioned earlier made the Met a winner, despite these minor problems.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_Caff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent last night in this hotel. We were just in town for the night and needed a reasonable place to lay our heads. Rooms were neat and tidy, nice high ceilings, fairly clean and although the bathroom and fixtures were a bit dated it really did the trick. We stayed on the top floor, had a nice comfy king bed overlooking the river, which for those who stay in the lower mainland often know that coming into a water-view room for under $100/night is nearly impossible so this was a treat for sure.

Its directly beside the Columbia St skytrain station so getting downtown would be a breeze (should we have had the time) - there were no vagrants or sketchy looking people hanging around what so ever, place felt secure and quiet. Something to keep in mind is that from YVR this hotel is about a $50 cab ride, with the Columbia station being right there it would certainly be worth hopping on the train at the airport with no worries of having to drag your luggage far after you get off.

The main downside to this place is finding a late night place to eat....all of the restaurants within a 10 min walk seemed to shut down at 11pm so for those of us who like a late night nosh, this is not the place for you. Although the cook at the pub right on the corner was nice enough to make us a meal once we realized we were facing the pizza delivery man.

Don't usually stay so far out of the downtown area - but would consider it again for sure.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor with the high ceilings and tall windows over the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Pros:
1. The room rate!
2. Location is next door to skytrain Columbia station, walking distance to restaurants, shops, grocery stores, comedy club, etc.
3. Simple with all the basics.
4. Discounts to local restaurants and events.
5. Pet friendly with pet rooms all on the same floor.
6. 20-25 minute train ride from Vancouver.
7. Friendly staff.

Cons:
1. Parking
Parking options are not clearly outlined on the website. They are also not clearly communicated by the front desk. I eventually learned that parking is offered at $10 + tax a day from noon to noon in the public parking garage across the street. Tax is $3.50 for a total of $13.50. The Met is on a commercial block without parking. Doesn't sound too bad until you learn that:

- Parking in the same public garage is $9.50 a day.
$7.00 from 6 am to 6 pm
$2.50 from 6 pm to 6 am
- After 6 pm the meters in New Westminster are free until 8 am.

This means that The Met is charging twice the general rate for the convenience of not having to move your car until noon.

2. Cleanliness
Contrary to previous reviewers the cleanliness in my room was average. I actually selected this hotel based on the comments, "highest standard" of clean. That was not the case. Overall the room was clean. The hitch was an assortment of stray hairs: male, female and I suspect a dog, all over the bathroom with the ripped and tattered towel. End of the world? No, but definitely not the highest standard.

3. Skytrain
The location of the skytrain station is superb with the price of street noise. If you are a light sleepier, this may become a problem. Try requesting a room on the front side of the Met.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed one night at The Met. We were arriving later than expected, so called to determine what time was the absolute latest for check-in. The staff on duty was very courteous and said they were staffed all night on weekends, but if it was during the week, they would be sure to not leave us out in the rain. Upon check-in, desk clerk was friendly and very accommodating. Found our room to be very clean and more than adequately supplied with the necessities. Blankets were warm, pillows were fluffy.
We arrived on a rainy weekend, with very wet backpacks. The front desk clerk took us to the laundry room and allowed us to have come and go access to the dryer to dry out soggy clothing. The next day, we were busy until after 4 pm and did not want to carry our backpacks with us. The staff very willingly found us room in a storage area and, upon noticing our still very wet footwear from the day before, offered to place them by a fan for the day. When we returned, our bags were where they were left and our shoes were very dry.
Location to skytrain cannot get any better.
If ever in the Westminster area again, The Met will be our first choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_L_Edmonton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I like the fact that it is close to the sky trains, close to my family, close to the store. There are some things that I can't stand though. The place is spacious, clean and it is by the sky train if you need to use public transportation. We have stayed here before because it is close to family. There are some things that are awful thought. I cannot stand the fact that there is no way to park in front of the place to unload bags, kids, etc. The hotel is right by the bus stop and you are not allowed to park not even to unload. This is a crazy thing because the actual parking (which you have to pay for) is across the street. The parking lot is dodgy and not a good location. We paid $100 for one night and that is not cheap and on top of that we had to pay $13 for parking. The vent/ac made a horrible raddling noise but we had it keep on all night because we were on the side where the sky train stops and the train was loud. The shower drain didn't work and I felt like I was bathing in my own dirty water (yuck). B-fast is not included (which it did back in the days). It used to be way better place. I would say... if you don't want to park across the street and lug your kids, luggage and things across the street then find another place.

The website says “Guest parking is limited and available on a limited first-come, first-served basis (surcharge)”. Such parking does not exist – what this means is that the parking lot is across the street and YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR IT.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Quay
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 3 in New Westminster
514 reviews
2.1 mi away
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 3 in New Westminster
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Executive Plaza Hotel Coquitlam
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
Ramada Coquitlam
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Address: 411 Columbia St, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range: $62 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Met Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Met Hotel New Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing