We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast Artist!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
Grand Forks, Canada
1 review
“Breakfast Artist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Johanna was very welcoming, and provided a comfortable, clean environment. Johanna was even able to not only accommodate my food allergies, but created amazing and unique breakfasts for me. Johanna obviously enjoys creating art with food, and the bonus is that it tastes great too! It was really nice to have access to a sitting area, fridge, and our own entrance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the meals were enjoyable. Thanks very much for your review and we hope that you stay with us again the next time you come down for a dance clinic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
40
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was only my second time at a B&B, having access to a kitchen and living area was great! The house is located in a very quite area which I really liked. Close to shopping and coffee and restaurants.
Comfy beds, very clean! Johanna and Kashi the dog were great host. Enjoyed it so much I have a booking for next month too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

On a trip to visit our sister in New Westminster, my brother and I could not have wished for a nicer place to stay. The bedrooms Serenity and Tranquillity were great with such comfortable beds and the facility of a lounge and kitchen area an unexpected bonus. So many extras were available and Johanna and Derek so kind and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a great one. Nothing was too much trouble, breakfasts were always a surprise and meeting different guests was so interesting. As we had a longish stay of eighteen nights, we got to know our hosts and left them more as friends. Kashi the dog also became a friend and it was quite sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the room called "Serenity" downstairs and really appreciated having access to a kitchen and living area in addition to the bedroom. The kitchen and living area was shared with those staying in the other bedroom, but we found that a bonus as we enjoyed very much our interactions with them. The bathroom was ours alone, but we did have to dress to go through the living area to access it, but that was really no problem. The bed was extremely comfortable, Breaksfast was always something special, and looked like a lot of effort went into them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandchrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We truly appreciate receiving your review and enjoyed sharing our home with you both. I do understand your comment about having to leave your room to use the private bath, which is why bathrobes and slippers are provided in each room. It would be nice to have ensuite bathrooms but the house renovation and original lay out of the home did not lend itself to doing this unfortunately. I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future so we can continue our interesting conversations.
Sincerely,
J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first stay in a B&B (my wife and I) and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed for a whole week (July 22nd to 29th) visiting my in-laws, just a block away from there. Our host Johanna (pronounced Yohanna) was very friendly and interesting, giving us information about different things to do and see during our stay. She and her husband Derek really made us feel at home in their lovely and spacious house, situated in a nice and quiet area of New West. We had a chance to meet visitors from Germany, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Kelowna B.C, all very friendly. I usually have only cereal in the morning, but Johanna cooked a very delicious and different meal every morning. Wow, she is a great cook! Everything is made by her, even the juice. What a way to start off the day! The place was very clean and beds comfortable. We recommend this place very highly to anyone who want a different and more personal experience than in hotels. We will go back again some day. Thanks Johanna and Derek.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzbass4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bute S.A.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Thank you Johanna, we all enjoyed our stay, the creative breakfast and you going out of your way for us in so many ways. Thank you for your tip for Mongo Bongo for dinner. Loved your decode and delicious fruits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockleyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Johanna was a great host, very friendly and communicative. We spent 3 nights at Lavender House and enjoyed the excellent breakfast each morning.
The rooms are very clean with a personal touch and all above really quiet.
Also the sourrounding was nice as New Westminster is a small city, where you can find everything you need, restaurants, shops etc.
We travelled with our own rental car and thus it was easy to reach from Vancouver Airport.

@Thanks to Johanna & Derek to make our stay in Vancouver so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
1.2 mi away
Inn at the Quay
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Centre
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 816 10th Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 4A1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home-away-from-home is situated on a quiet street within walking distance to all amenities. Your heritage style home is almost 100 years old and has been extensively renovated, but is still a work in progress. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing