We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“b and b with a hug”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“b and b with a hug”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Never having stayed in a B & B in Vancouver before, it was a pot luck pick from the computer.
How glad we are that we found Lavender House, what a find.
Johanna is a wonderful hostess, recommend it really highly, a delightful stay.

Keith H.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
40
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed in at Lavender House for 2 nights with my family. We got to see all the rooms and they were so clean and very new. I really liked how the rooms were decorated with pictures and small objects. Johanna and Derek are such a sweet and welcoming people. We also enjoyed eating the delicious breakfast every morning. My husband especially liked the ham and cheese omelette.This place is definitely more than B&B and I will absolutely come back here to stay in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayuko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The quiet and charm of this house was wonderful. Derek and Johanna are warm and interesting hosts and we enjoyed great conversations with them. The location was convenient for us with a friend and shops just a 10-minute walk through a lovely park. With buses and Skytrain nearby it is handy if public transport is needed. At the start of our time in Canada we had two nights in a Basement room with its own entrance, private bathroom with laundry facilities, shared kitchen and sitting room. We couldn't think of one element that was missing in the appointment of that room and bathroom - really more than is on offer in many B & Bs. The breakfasts outclassed any B & B or hotel we have stayed in in any part of the world. We appreciated being able to have an early morning or pre-bed drink with a range of teas and coffees available. Cooking facilities were also available. Wonderfully comfortable beds with an option of Singles or King. We returned for our last night in Canada and had an upstairs room. Renovations in this area are not yet quite complete but the room was large and comfortable and the bathroom renovated with high quality fittings. There was also a sitting room down the hall. Although we were welcome to use the downstairs kitchen for drinks, we would have preferred to make them in our room or in the sitting room. We had to be at the airport late afternoon and were able to use the room until then - great to be able to have an afternoon rest before hours of plane travel. We would highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: We were very happy in our basement room, Serenity, with private bathroom and sitting room and kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuccan2, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We have just added a small fridge to the upstairs sitting area and next week will add a coffee machine and kettle so guests can make themselves a drink without having to go to the downstairs kitchen area. Eventually there will be a small T.V. added to this area as well. In the meantime it was wonderful to meet you both. Guests such as yourselves become friends which is what makes this business so worthwhile doing. All the best, Johanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Johanna and Derek were very helpful to us when we thought we would have to cancel our visit. When we arrived we received a warm welcome and lots of help from them finding our way around the city during our short stay. Johanna is very passionate and proud of her business and the breakfasts were beautiful, you certainly didn't need lunch. Home from home and a place we would definitely go back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

my daughter and me spent 3 days at Johanna and Derek. This was in any regard b&b as you hope to find it. Not only an accomodation but also a warm welcome and our first and good impression about Canada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at Lavender House while in the Lower Mainland on business. Johanna was the quintessential host, not only opening her home and sharing all the details of how to enjoy it but also offering great recommendations on things to do and the best way to get through traffic. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and helped me get through a busy day. Johanna was great about accommodating my schedule. I will definitely stay there again, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGourmand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This B+B is my home away from home. I travel to Burnaby for work and enjoy staying in a homey B+B rather than a hotel. I tried this location after having tried a couple of others and will be back to this one! I thoroughly enjoyed this place for it's quiet and soothing atmosphere which makes for great sleeps, and it's in a nice neighbourhood which is great for evening walks, and Johanna's breakfasts are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karirick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
The Met Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 816 Tenth St, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 4A1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home-away-from-home is situated on a quiet street within walking distance to all amenities. Your heritage style home is almost 100 years old and has been extensively renovated, but is still a work in progress. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing