We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good salad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Cafe

Modern Cafe
Ranked #36 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stopped in Nanaimo on a cruise, and I happened to try the Modern Cafe. I had a salad with a side order of shrimp, and the shrimp were nice and juicy. The salad itself was nice and light and I quite enjoyed it. The only depressing thing was when I got the dessert menu and there were tapas on the other side. I would have loved to try them, but perhaps they're only offered for supper? I decided not to get dessert - I wanted to keep it light - but the service was good and I quite enjoyed the shrimp. I would recommend the Modern Cafe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AriaDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    87
    43
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bengal Prawns awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is their signature dish. I loved it! They also used to have lamb with greek salad and I was told by the server they would be bringing that back on the menu. I have never been disappointed with a meal here. The service is always attentive. Thanks for being consistent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank storeclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great location, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My mom, daughter and I stopped for lunch and a glass of wine while visiting Nanaimo in early May. Loved the decor...great spinach salad with grilled tofu and friendly service. Loved the atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent for tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent and wide range of food on offer. Cocktails are nice there too. It is a bit pricey though but still recommended

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluelinerhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great getaway while on a getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My companion and I enjoyed the sophisticated atmosphere after two weeks on a sailboat. It was great to have someone else cook a great meal of New York steak or Thai curried prawns, served with an excellent choice of wine and beer. The service was friendly and the clientele ranged from young women visiting from across the pond to local yokels. We liked it so much we went back on our return voyage.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Cafe also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Modern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing