We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food...Great atmosphere”
Review of Mgm Restaurant

Mgm Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food...Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I took a couple of staff worker out for dinner, we all had something different off the menu and we all agreed the food was good! The night manager actually served us, quick service, never felt neglected. There was also a couple of women showing/teaching patrons dance steps which was unusual but entertaining.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    13
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Asked for a PLAIN cheeseburger, no condements, no toppings just meat cheese and bun an received it with some kind of sauce i don't even know what it was sent it back got the same patty with a new bun sent it back again got a new patty but the same bun reheated and the colour of it was grey and i'm not even kidding and the fries i got back were the same ones reheated an soggy if there was a choice to rate it zero i definately would have

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thedoctor959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All They Need Is A Cook that can COOK!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Scallops came and they were like hunks of brown rubber. I asked the waitress if they always were served that way and she said, "it depends who's cooking." OMG! Asked for a plain cheese burger with fries....PLAIN...came with condiments on the bun...sent it back and they wiped off the meat and slapped it on another bun....sent back again for new meat...came with the same bun but re-toasted and the fries were reheated back into the same oil....This place should be shut down! Bun was burnt! I don't know how this place stays open! It is pretty bad when the best part of your meal was the fake bacon bits.....Au jus that was served with beef dip was oily with no flavour!

It's a shame because this restaurant used to be really decent and good value. We will never go to this poor excuse for a restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good quantities.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The meals are all inclusive, they don't nickel and dime you for extras. Live entertainment was a nice surprise. Friendly staff. Excellent seniors menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerall53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible quality”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm giving MgM 5 stars because, for a "motel strip restaurant" it's a standout. For example, imagine a club sandwich stuffed with roasted FRESH turkey, edge to edge bacon, and THICK tomato slices. I haven't seen a club like that for 30 years! Everything ordered by our party of four was of similar quality. If you want to dine, no it's not for you. If you want hearty eats of terrific quality, go there and enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mgm Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Mgm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing