We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food in Nanaimo”

Gateway To India Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gateway to India has been located in the heart of Nanaimo for over 20 years. Specializing in Indian cuisine, we provide our community with authentic Indian dishes. Dine in our modern contemporary Indian designed restaurant where we are capable of seating up to 100 patrons. We have a full bar and lounge where we specialize in making the best tasting mojitos!Find our food in local grocery stores and costco.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best Indian food in the mid Vancouver Island area. The lamb is consistently fresh and the spicing remarkably true to genuine Indian dishes. Same goes for chicken dishes. Their bread is made on site, the meals are delivered hot, and the wine list is very reasonably priced - they are not out to gouge customers. If you expect quick service, pick a fast food outlet. At this place, they actually prepare your meal after you order it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the outside detour you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Very surprising modern decor hidden in this gem in Harewood. the food isn't that bad although I am a lover of Indian cuisine I would give It a 7/10. Beautiful place for a casual date and nice night out

Helpful?
1 Thank Mehrili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This has been by far the best Indian Food in Nanaimo that I've come across. We had several dishes here, all of them were very delicious. The only negative for me is that it's not necessarily family friendly, at least not for smaller kids as there are no highchairs or booster seats available. A drawback for us as we would go more frequently if this was rectified as we and our toddler love Indian food.

Helpful?
Thank Oddduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Indian in 6 months”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Don't be deceived by the slightly run down exterior of this curry house. The interior is super luxurious, elegant and as tasteful as any $ 100 plate steak house. Ordered butter chicken, korma and coconut chicken, allu gobi, eggplant and nan. All spectacular dishes, individually flavoured and definitely distinctive. Rich tasty and cooked by a Professional chef - small pieces of Fresh ginger and Cardamom pods. Oh yes, best nan bread in recent memory and I eat Indian food very regularly. Crispy, chewy, light and fluffy. Hard to achieve all these things in a nan, but they do. Special appie of tandoori wings knocked me for 6. Most flavourful wings I have ever tasted, too bad it's a short term special. Service from the young owner was superlative. This is a must if you like authentic Indian food. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 403guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious indian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have finally found an Indian restaurant that fits the bill. Our meals were delicious with lovely service too. Will will certainly return for another meal here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V-I-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway To India Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Gateway To India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing