We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm cheese”
Review of Danforth Deli and Grill - CLOSED

Danforth Deli and Grill
Price range: $2 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Best Grilled Cheese in Nanaimo ~ Specialty Burgers
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I enjoy going to Danforth to grab cheese for a night in a home - the owner always has great recommendations :)

1  Thank lovinlife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danforth D, Owner at Danforth Deli and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi there, Glad you enjoy the cheese selections! See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Danforth has such a wide variety of food, it's my go-to no matter what I'm in the mood for. Delicious sandwiches, savoury soups, custom made wraps, specialty grilled cheese sandwiches... Danforth has it all! The staff are polite and the owner Ben is a real sweetheart. I have never had a bad experience, but the opposite. I often recommend Danforth to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Faby3309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danforth D, Owner at Danforth Deli and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback ! It was our pleasure to have served you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Years ago, restaurants cooked delicious food from scratch with fresh ingredients. They didn't overwhelm you with their decor only to underwhelm you with their food and overcharge with their prices. The Danforth Deli remembers how to do it the right way. Simply great food, made fresh served by an attentive owner and staff in a functional decor and at fair prices. In downtown Nanaimo, this is the place for value and great taste. The aromas here will have your mouth watering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danforth D, Owner at Danforth Deli and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words. Your thoughts are very important and are highly appreciated. Thanks for stopping by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Three of us had a quick lunch while in the area. It was great, cooked to order & done quickly since we mentioned that our time was limited. The carrot ginger soup was sensational. I would return to sample more of the menu & explore their cheese selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WyleeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danforth D, Owner at Danforth Deli and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Hi there,

It was our pleasure to have served you. Thank you for your feedback, it is muchly appreciated. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This little restaurant has been a great addition to downtown Nanaimo. It is a cheese shop along with a casual daytime eatery with awesome fresh from scratch food. No frozen factory food here. Fairly priced and always delicious. Decor is basic and seating is tight but for what it is, it deserves 5 stars. Constantly superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danforth D, Owner at Danforth Deli and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hi there! Thanks for popping in and we certainly appreciate your feedback. We are very glad to have been able to serve you. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danforth Deli and Grill also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing